Featured Stories

Canada’s 2018 Cyclo-cross World Championships Team Announced

release by Cycling Canada

January 25, 2018 (Ottawa, ON) – Cycling Canada and the Canadian Cyclo-cross Working Group have announced the team of 13 athletes that will represent Canada at the 2018 Cyclo-cross World Championships, to take place in Valkenburg, Netherlands, on February 3-4.

Canada’s Ferrier Bruneau wins Supercross Cup on Day 1  ©  Marco Quezada
The team will include four reigning national champions, led by the Elite women’s and men’s champions – Christel Ferrier Bruneau of Granby, Quebec, and Michael Van den Ham of Abbottsford, BC.  Prior to the world championships, the team will participate in the final round of the Cyclo-cross World Cup, on January 27-28, in Hoogerheide, Netherlands.

Michael Van den Ham  ©  Ethan Glading
Scott Kelly, Program Manager for the Canadian National Cyclo-cross Team, said “We’ve assembled a great team of athletes to represent Canada at this year’s World Championships. Our National program is still very much in a growth phase and our goal at every international competition is for our athletes to continue to learn and develop. The World Championships is a great opportunity for our riders to take everything they’ve learned this year, put it all together on the day and leave everything out on the course.”

Canada’s Tyler Clark wins the Junior Men’s race  ©  Ethan Glading
“We are, as always, extremely grateful to our staff for volunteering their time and expertise during these World Championships,” said Kris Westwood, High Performance Director at Cycling Canada. “This is the sixth consecutive Cyclo-cross World Championships for our core group of volunteer Cyclo-cross staff, and we are incredibly appreciative of their efforts every year supporting the National Cyclo-cross Program at World Cups and the World Championships.”

Ruby West  ©  Angelica Dixon
Canadian National Team Roster (* denotes National Champion):

Junior Men
– Paul Mysko – Barrie, Ontario
– Dylan Kerr – Horseshoe Valley, Ontario
– Conor Martin – Kelowna, BC
– Tyler Clark * – King City, Ontario

Under-23 Women
– Magdeleine Vallieres Mill – Sherbrooke, Quebec
– Siobhan Kelly – London, Ontario
– Ruby West * – Dundas, Ontario

Under-23 Men
– Nicholas Diniz – Oakville, Ontario

Elite Women
– Mical Dyck – Cumberland, BC
– Maghalie Rochette – St-Jerome, Quebec
– Christel Ferrier Bruneau * – Granby, Quebec

Elite Men
– Mark McConnell – Calgary, AB
– Michael Van den Ham* – Abbottsford, BC

Cycling Canada does not receive government funding for Cyclo-cross programs, which means all projects are funded through sponsorships, private donations or by the athletes themselves. Any amount donated has a direct impact on the development of this sport in Canada. To donate, please visit here.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.