Featured Stories

Canada MTB Cup XC Final Whistler Results – Pendrel and Kabush Win

by pedalmag.com

August 14, 2013 (Whistler, BC) – Catharine Pendrel (BC) Luna Pro and Geoff Kabush (BC) Scott-3Rox Racing claimed the final round of the Canada MTB Cup XC series in Whistler, BC today. Series leader, Sandra Walter (BC) Liv / Giant, in second had already clinched the series with three consecutive wins, while Jean Ann Berkenpas (BC) Xprezo-Borsao took third. Pendrel established an early lead in the 22km contest which she never relinquished recently tweeting after seeing Steve Smith win DH gold at MSA, “Watching @stevesmithDH win the MSA World Cup today on @redbullTV made me want to go ride my bike fast. Really fast #BC Congrats!”

Kabush and Plaxton also established an early lead in the men’s 27.5km race as well with Zandstra and Paxson chasing behind. Kabush sat on Plaxton’s wheel and then attacked on the final lap gaining a 20s-gap. Plaxton flatted but was able to hold on to second as Kabush soloed in for the victory. Paxson surpassed Zandstra the reigning Canadian champ for third.


Elite Women – 22km – 4 Laps   
1. Catharine Pendrel (Can) Luna Pro Team  01:27:47
2. Sandra Walter (Can) Liv / Giant CAN  01:31:01
3. Jean Ann Berkenpas (Can) Xprezo-Borsao  01:32:05
4. Brandi Heisterman (Can) Trek Red Truck Racing  01:32:35
5. Mikaela Kofman (Can) SCOTT-3Rox  01:33:15
6. Mandy Dreyer (Can) Tuf Rack Racing  01:36:13
7. Catherine Fleury (Can)   01:38:04
8. Frédérique Larose-Gingras (Can) Opus OGC  01:46:48
9. Alycia Traas (Can) Russ Hay’s Racing  01:47:41
10. Katelyn Button (Can) Russ Hay’s Bikes  01:50:30
DQ Daniela Storch (Ger) SCOTT Generation MTB Team

Elite Men – 27.5km – 5 Laps   
1. Geoff Kabush (Can) SCOTT-3Rox Racing  01:34:37
2. Max Plaxton (Can) Team Sho-Air/Cannondale  01:35:16
3. Spencer Paxson (Usa) Kona Bicycles  01:38:04
4. Derek Zandstra (Can) Scott 3 Rox Racing  01:38:05
5. Kris Sneddon (Can) KONA  01:39:09
6. Emilien Barben (Sui)   01:39:32
7. Evan Guthrie (Can) Norco Factory Team  01:40:49
8. Sébastien Cadieux-Duval (Can) Garneau  01:41:14
9. Kelsey Krushel (Can) TUF RACK RACING  01:41:14
10. Peter Glassford (Can) Trek CAN  01:41:45
11. Carl Decker (Usa) Giant Factory Off-Road  01:43:45
12. Greg Day (Can) Rocky Mountain Factory Team  01:46:07
13. Cameron Jette (Can) Scott 3Rox Racing  01:47:24
14. Matthew Farquharson (Can) TUF Rack/POC  01:47:35
15. Sam Amberiadis (Can) Fluid, Fish Creek Nissan, ARA Auto Accessories  01:48:32
16. Felix Wilberg (Can) Cyclemeisters/Bowcycle  01:52:07
17. Chris Christie (Can) Ryders Eyewear-Dissent Labs-Corsa Cycles  01:53:50
18. Seth Wells (Can) Duxhelm/Cove Bikes  01:54:50
19. Jason Poon (Can)   01:56:08
20. Jordan Hodder (Can)  – 1 Lap
21. Louis Dillon (Can)  – 1 Lap
DNF Spencer Skerget (Can) Team Yukon
DNF Cody Canning (Can) Trek Red Truck p/b Mosaic Homes
DNF Neal Kindree (Can) Specialized/SRAM/Corsa Cycles
DNF Rafael Krezalek (Can)
DNF Quinn Moberg (Can) Corsa Cycles/Team Squamish
DQ Pascal Wehr (Ger) CANNONDALE
DNS Jeremy Martin (Can) Rocky Mountain Bicycles
DNS Leandre Bouchard (Can) Equipe Quebec/Cyclone/Devinci

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.