Featured Stories

Canada MTB Cup XC #2 Tremblant Report, More Photos

by Sandra Walter

May 23, 2009 (Mont Tremblant, QC) – Saturday’s Canada MTB Cup XC races took place with the best course conditions in recent history, with mainly dry trails, punctuated by only a few muddy spots on the 6.2km lap. Despite the relatively smooth, dry conditions, riders still faced many obstacles during the race. It was a long battle for everyone, with both the elite men’s and women’s winners stopping the clock at over two hours. Also, mechanical issues were rampant with lots of flat tires due to the fast, rocky downhills.

Derek Zandstra (ON) 3 Rox Racing and Emily Batty (ON) Trek Store Toronto both solidified their Canada Cup leads today, making it two-for-two after the second round of the series. Zandstra took control of the six-lap, 37.2km race and rode away from the elite men’s field, chased by Matt Hadley (NB) Xprezo, who finished second, 3:50 back. Andrew Watson (ON) Norco Factory took the bronze medal, followed by Benjamin Sonntag (Ger) Monavie-Cannondale and Kris Sneddon (BC) Kona in fourth and fifth, respectively.

The five-lap, 31km women’s race started out in what looked to be standard form, with Batty heading to the front early, and gradually riding away from the rest of the field. Jean Ann McKirdy (BC) Local Ride Women’s MTB led the chase in second place and briefly caught the leader when Batty was forced to pit stop with a flat tire. Soon after Batty regained the lead, McKirdy was sidelined with a flat, at which point Karine Travaillaud (QC) Specialized took over second place. Meanwhile, Amanda Sin (ON) 3 Rox Racing, who had been riding in the top five also was forced to stop for a wheel change. Travaillaud maintained her second position, while there was a battle for third between Caroline Villeneuve (QC) Norco, Catherine Vipond (ON) Norco Factory, and McKirdy. Villeneuve attacked on the last climb to claim the third spot on the podium, with Vipond rolling in fourth and McKirdy into fifth.

The five-lap Junior Expert Men’s race was very close, with the top five all finishing within 41s of one another. Last week’s winner, Mitch Bailey (ON) Team Ontario secured another victory ahead of second place Antoine Caron (QC) CVM Subway-Génétik, who trailed by only 20s. Steven Noble (ON) Team Ontario took third, 36s behind the leader, while Evan Guthrie (BC) Rocky Mountain Factory was 40s back for fourth, and Andrew L’Esperance (NS) Kona/BNS was fifth at 41s.

The three-lap, 18.6km Junior Women’s competition was the only Canada Cup Championship category to see a different winner than last week’s round. Cayley Brooks (ON) Team Ontario grabbed the win, over 3.5 minutes ahead of second place, Kristina Laforge (QC) Cyclone d’Alma. Natasha Oldcorn (ON) Jet Power was third, followed by Marjorie Lavoie (QC) CVM Val David in fourth, and Baie-Saint-Paul winner Laura Bietola (Can) 3 Rox Racing in fifth.

Next Sunday, the third Canada MTB Cup will make its move to the fast and rolling Hardwood Hills course near Barrie, ON.

Full results and more photos here.

Results (brief)

Junior Women – 3 laps – 18.6km
1. Cayley Brooks (Can) Team Ontario 1:21:46
2. Kristina Laforge (Can) Cyclone d’Alma 3:34
3. Natasha Oldcorn (Can) Jet Power 3:44
4. Marjorie Lavoie (Can) CVM Val David 3:56
5. Laura Bietola (Can) 3 Rox Racing 5:40

Junior Men – 5 laps – 31km
1. Mitch Bailey (Can) Team Ontario 1:50:44
2. Antoine Caron (Can) CVM Subway-Génétik 0:20
3. Steven Noble (Can) Team Ontario 0:36
4. Evan Guthrie (Can) Rocky Mountain Factory 0:40
5. Andrew L’Esperance (Can) Kona/BNS 0:41

Elite Women – 5 laps – 31km
1. Emily Batty (Can) Trek Store Race Team 2:01:47
2. Karine Travaillaud (Can) Cycles des Monts 4:10
3. Caroline Villeneuve (Can) Norco Factory Team 5:33
4. Catherine Vipond (Can) Norco Factory Team 5:37
5. Jean Ann McKirdy (Can) Local Ride Elite Women’s MTB Team 5:50

Elite Men – 6 laps – 37.2km
1. Derek Zandstra (Can) 3 Rox Racing 2:00:34
2. Matthew Hadley (Can) Xprezo 3:50
3. Andrew Watson (Can) Norco Factory Team 5:25
4. Benjamin Sonntag (Ger) Monavie-Cannondale 5:47
5. Kris Sneddon (Can) Kona 6;37

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.