Featured Stories

Call for Nominations for 40th Canadian Sport Awards

release by The True Sport Foundation

August 17, 2012 The True Sport Foundation announced today its Call for Nominations for the 40th Canadian Sport Awards (CSA). The nomination period begins today and closes on Sunday, September 16, 2012 5:00pm EST.

Canada’s definitive event for honouring and recognizing sport achievements will award recipients based upon accomplishments between January 1 and September 16, 2012.

“We are pleased to continue the tradition of the Canadian Sport Awards and pay tribute to the hard work, dedication and victories of our country’s finest athletes,” noted Peter Leyser, Executive Director, True Sport Foundation. “In addition, we will recognize the other champions of sport, the coaches, volunteers, leaders and corporations whose support is critical for our athletes to succeed.”

Finalists for each CSA award will be announced on September 27, 2012 with the winners being announced on October 17, 2012 at Canada’s Sports Hall of Fame in Calgary.

Official nomination forms can be downloaded HERE for:

– Junior Athlete of the Year
– Corporate Excellence Award
– Leadership in Sport Award
– Volunteer Achievement Award
– Athlete Leadership Award
– Spirit of Sport Story of the Year

The Athlete Performance Awards (Male, Female, Team, and Partners of the Year) will be seeded by the Top 8 results published by Sport Canada, therefore no nomination forms are required.

Canadian sport organizations, media and the general public are encouraged to nominate their sporting heroes for their passion, achievement and contribution to Canadian sport in 2012.

“The Canadian Sport Awards remind Canadians how sport lifts the human spirit and inspires hope,” says Leyser. “One of the highlights is the incredible and compelling stories we learn about our athletes and coaches, and their seemingly insurmountable challenges. We look forward to sharing these stories with the public through our popular Spirit of Sport Story of the Year Award”.

Nomination Eligibility

Any Canadian citizen can nominate an individual, team or corporation for the Canadian Sport Awards. Individuals and corporations can also self-nominate. Eligible entries are for performances or contributions from January 1, 2012 through to September 16, 2012.

Submissions must be received at the True Sport Foundation no later than 5:00 p.m. E.S.T., Sunday, September 16, 2012. Late submissions will not be accepted.

Completed ORIGINAL submissions should be sent to:

True Sport Foundation
CSA Selection Advisory Committee
350-955 Green Valley Crescent
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada K2C 3V4

39th Canadian Sport Award (Categories and Winners in 2011):

The Canadian Sport Award categories are listed below, followed by a list of athletes, teams, and corporations honoured in 2011:

– Male Athlete of the Year: Patrick Chan, Figure Skating

– Female Athlete of the Year: Christine Nesbitt, Speed Skating

– Junior Athlete of the Year: Alex Harvey, Cross Country Skiing

– Team of the Year: Jeff Stoughton (skip), Jonathan Mead (3rd), Reid Carruthers (2nd), Steve Gould (lead), Garth Smith (alternate), Curling – Men’s Team

– Partners of the Year: Alex Harvey & Devon Kershaw, Cross Country Ski, Men’s Team Sprint

– The Corporate Excellence Award recognizes and celebrates a corporation’s outstanding contribution to the betterment of sport: Forzani Group

The Leadership Awards recognize and celebrate an individual’s outstanding contribution to the betterment of sport:

– Leadership in Sport Award: Tom Quinn
– Volunteer Achievement Award: Judith Tutty
– Athlete Leadership Award: Michael Smith

The Spirit of Sport Story of the Year category recognizes and celebrates Canadian heroes who, in the pursuit of sporting excellence, have demonstrated values such as fairness, inclusion, perseverance, sportsmanship, respect for others, and a true love of sport. The 2011 winner was: Ottawa Senators Women’s Bantam AA hockey team.

About the Canadian Sport Awards

Established in 1972, the Canadian Sport Awards brings together leaders from the sporting and corporate communities who represent the pinnacle of commitment and competition: Canadian amateur athletes, coaches, sport leaders and volunteers. Managed by the True Sport Foundation, the Canadian Sport Awards boasts a strong relationship with its modern day founding partners, which include AthletesCAN, Canada Games, Canadian Centre for Ethics in Sport, and the Commonwealth Games Association of Canada. For more information about the Canadian Sport Awards, please visit HERE.

About the True Sport Foundation

The True Sport Foundation is a national charitable organization that promotes values-driven sport. As a leader in the True Sport Movement, the Foundation is focused on building and enriching communities and the lives of individuals by providing a safe, welcoming, and rewarding environment for all participants, at all levels of sport. The True Sport Foundation is committed to ensuring that sport makes a positive contribution to Canadian society, to our athletes, and to the physical and moral development of Canada’s youth. The Foundation also plays a pivotal role in the Canadian sport system by bringing together leading sport organizations to promote, celebrate and recognize sporting excellence. For more information about the True Sport Foundation, please visit HERE.

For complete nomination rules and guidelines, and more information about the Canadian Sport Awards, please visit HERE.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.