Featured Stories

Burnaby Velodrome Race Series #2 – Day 1

January 7, 2006 – Riders from BC, Alberta, Washington, and Oregon gathered under the inflatable roof of the Harry Jerome Sports Centre in Burnaby today, for the first day of racing at the BVC #2 Race Series. On tap was a combination of sprint and mass-start events for riders across three categories (A/B/C). This event followed up hot on the heels of the Burnaby SixDay race, held only three weeks ago in December.

In the A Group, several sub-12 second times were recorded for the 200m, with Victoria’s Matt Barlee stopping the clock in 11.49 for the fastest time of the day. In the B Group, Anselmo Rossiello of Team Coastal was fastest at a time of 12.78, with 16 year old phenom from Alberta Monique Sullivan, only a few tenths behind him at 13.1. Team VeloVets rider Stuart Lynne took the fastest C qualifier at 14.1

The sprints saw teammates Matt Barlee and Matt Chater go a full three rounds in the A Group, with Barlee taking the win in the final ride. In the B Group final it was Youngster Sullivan went up against Team Dr Walker rider Vinko Poldrugovac, pushing him to 3 rides, but losing in the final ride. And veteran Stuart Lynne took junior rider Mike Rothengatter in the C Group sprint finals in 2 rides.

The 50-lap A Scratch Race saw a rider more known for his sprint efforts taking the win, with Matt Chater leading out the final sprint from about five laps out, beating Oregon’s Stephen Mclaughry and Devo/Escape Velocity’s Jeff Ain (Burnaby). 19 riders started the B Group event, the largest mass-start event of the day, and saw a competitive 40 laps won by the hard-charging Vinko Podrugovac. Local rider Rossiello was second, while Oregon rider Miranda Duff rounded out the top 3. Stuart Lynne repeated over Mike Rothengatter in the C Group Scratch.

Wrapping up the day was the 100/80/30 lap Points Races for the respective A/B/C categories. Riders were evenly matched in all three races, with groups staying together and few riders able to lap the field. Multiple riders scored points in each event and many of the events saw riders tie for points when the dust had settled.

It was Matt Chater again in the A Group, over Jeff Ain and John Perkins second and third. In the B Group, 16-year-old Cody Campbell of Team Soliton won an exciting race over Podrugovac and Oregon’s Per Bjesse. Stuart Lynne won the C Group, with Rothengatter at his heels and Ron Gordon in third.

On schedule for Sunday is Keirin’s , Snowballs, the infamous “Burnaby Elimination-to-Scratch”, and a Feature Scratch race.


BVC #2 – January 7/8, 2006
Results — Saturday January 7, 2006

* Flying 200m

A Group
Matt Barlee 11.49
Keith Bruneau 11.59
Matt Chater 11.63
Dean Tracy 11.98
Stephen Mclaughry 11.99
Steven Beardsley 12.15
Dylan Menard 12.53
Mike McCorkell 12.56
John Perkins 12.61
Joel Regimbald 12.65
Zach Grant 12.88
Luis Bernhardt 13.35

B Group
Anselmo Rossiello 12.78
Christopher J. Anstey 12.82
Monique Sullivan 13.1
Vinko Poldrugovac 13.12
Mark Butschler 13.15
William Monteath 13.17
Per Bjesse 13.23
Heather VanValkenburg 13.32
Austin Macdougall 13.33
Hayden Wood 13.38
Jennifer Triplett 13.58
Dave Shishkoff 13.74
Kele Murdin 13.86
David Kosick 14.46

C Group
Stuart Lynne 14.04
Ron Gordon 14.58
Michael Rothengatter 14.67
Rob Mcmurtry 14.88
Doug Preston 15.22
Amelia Bjesse-Puffin 15.48
Rachel Canning 15.96

* Scratch Race

A Group – 50 laps
1 Matt Chater
2 Stephen Mclaughry
3 Jeff Ain
4 John Perkins
5 Dean Tracy
6 Mandy Poitras
7 Gina Grain

B Group – 40 laps
1 Vinko Poldrugovac
2 Anselmo Rossiello
3 Miranda Duff
4 Jennifer Tripplett
5 Pers Bjesse
6 Kele Murdin

C Group – 20 laps
1 Stuart Lynne
2 Mike Rothengatter
3 Ron Gordon
4 Rachel Canning
5 Rob McMurtry
6 Doug Preston

* Sprints

A Group
1 Matt Barlee
2 Matt Chater
3 Keith Bruneau
4 Dean Tracy
5 Dylan Menard
6 Steven Beardsley

B Group
1 Vinko Poldrugovac
2 Monique Sullivan
3 Anselmo Rossiello
4 Chris Anstey
5 Pers Bjesse
6 Heather VanValkenberg

C Group
1 Stuart Lynne
2 Mike Rothengatter
3 Ron Gordon
4 Doug Preston

* Points Race

A Group

1 Matt Chater 59 (+1 lap)
2 Jeff Ain 44 (+1 lap)
3 John Perkins 33 (+1 lap)
4 Mike Mccorkell 27 (+1 lap)
5 Mandy Poitras 12
6 Gina Grain 11
7 Luis Bernhardt 5
8 David Godfrey 1

B Group
1 Cody Campbell 22
2 Vinko Poldrugovac 17
3 Pers Bjesse 17
4 Anselmo Rossiello 14
5 Miranda Duff 11
6 Dave Shishkoff 3
7 Austin Macdougall 3

C Group
1 Mike Rothengatter 13
2 Stuart Lynne 8
3 Rob Mcmurtry 4
4 Ron Gordon 3
5 Rachel Canning 3
6 Doug Preston 2

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.