Featured Stories

Canada’s Boivin 5th on Stage 5 as Tour d’Azerbaidjan Wraps Up on Sunday – Perry 12th on Final GC

by Ben Andrew
Guillaume Boivin  ©  Cycling Academy
May 08, 2017 (Pirgulu, Azerbaidjan) – Canada’s Guillaume Boivin of the Israel Cycling Academy finished 5th at the 158km Stage 5 on Sunday, the final day of racing at the Tour d’Azerbaidjan. Boivin finished 21 seconds behind teammate, and solo stage winner, Krists Neilands, of Latvia. Fellow teammate and Canuck, Benjamin Perry, placed 30th on the day, also at 21 seconds behind Neilands.

Krists Neilands  ©  Tour d’Azerbaidjan
Perry held on to his 12th overall position in the General Classification at 3:11 behind race winner Kirill Pozdnyakov (Synergy Baku Cycling Project) of Azerbaijan. Boivin finished 55th overall at 37:34 behind the GC leader.

Guillaume Boivin  ©  Cor Vos
Stage 5 podium (l-r) Orken 2nd, Neilands 1st, Vanegas 3rd  ©  Tour d’Azerbaidjan
Final GC podium (l-r) Pernsteiner 2nd, Pozdnyakov 1st, Polivoda 3rd  ©  Tour d’Azerbaidjan
Results (brief)

1. Krists Neilands (LAT) Israel Cycling Academy 3:53:56
2. Ahmet Orken (TUR) Torku Sekerspor 0:21
3. Edwin Alcibiades Avila Vanegas (COL) Team Illuminate
4. Liam Bertazzo (ITA) Wilier Triestina-Selle Italia
5. Guillaume Boivin (CAN) Israel Cycling Academy
6. Matvey Nikitin (KAZ) Astana City
7. Pier Paolo de Negri (ITA) Nippo-Vini Fantini
8. Mikel Aristi Gardoki (ESP) Delko Marseille Provence Ktm
9. Ansel Dickey (USA) Ccb Velotooler
10. Mihkel Raim (EST) Israel Cycling Academy

30. Benjamin Perry (CAN) Israel Cycling Academy

Final GC

1. Kiryll Pozdnyakov (AZE) Synergy Baku Cycling Project 20:10:08
2. Hermann Pernsteiner (AUT) Amplatz-Bmc 0:46
3. Oleksandr Polivoda (UKR) Kolss Cycling Team 1:12
4. Mykhaylo Kononenko (UKR) Kolss Cycling Team 1:16
5. Eduard Vorganov (RUS) Minsk Cycling Club 1:28
6. Andriy Vasylyuk (UKR) Kolss Cycling Team
7. Dennis van Winden (NED) Israel Cycling Academy 1:49
8. Artem Ovechkin (RUS) Gazprom – RusVelo 2:09
9. Hideto Nakane (JPN) Nippo-Vini Fantini 2:15
10. Vitaliy Buts (UKR) Kolss Cycling Team 2:29

12. Benjamin Perry (CAN) Israel Cycling Academy 3:11
55. Guillaume Boivin (CAN) Israel Cycling Academy 37:34

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.