Featured Stories

Blue Sky Velo Cup Day 1 – Results, Report

release by Blue Sky Velo Cup

November 1, 2009 (Longmont, CO) – Katie Compton (USA) Planet Bike and the Cannondale-Cyclocrossworld.com trio of Tim Johnson (USA), Jeremy Powers (USA) and Jamey Driscoll (USA) pulled out no tricks but took the top treats at the Blue Sky Velo Cup in Longmont, Colorado today. After snow blanketed the state, the sun made a late season cameo appearance. Cross fans were treated to mud and a display of some of the best racers in the world. Compton demonstrated why she is leading the UCI circuit now, and the elite women’s race quickly became a contest for second as Compton turned the race into a dirt time trial. The Luna Chix duo of Georgia Gould (USA) and Alison Dunlap (USA) swept up second and third. Meredith Miller (USA) California Giant Berries put her road skills to the test for fourth. Mountain biker Kelli Emmett (USA) Giant rounded out the top five.

As Johnson and Powers began to build a lead in the elite men’s race, the two were also jockeying for who will take over the NACT leader’s jersey after the Boulder race tomorrow. Johnson dropped his teammate, but with Powers holding on for second and teammate Driscoll in third, Sunday’s race will decide who pulls on the red jersey Sunday afternoon. Adam Craig (USA) Giant, always entertaining, put in a good show to take fourth while Troy Wells (USA) Clif Bar was fifth.

Sunday’s race is now at the Boulder Reservoir due to snow.


Elite Women

1. Katherine Compton (USA) Planet Bike 37:00.0
2. Georgia Gould (USA) Luna Chix 39:07.0
3. Alison Dunlap (USA) Luna Chix 40:29.0
4. Meredith Miller (USA) Cal Giant Strawberry 41:03.0
5. Kelli Emmett (USA) Giant Bicycles 41:36.0
6. Amy Dombroski (USA) Webcor Builders 42:08.0
7. Heather Irmiger (USA) Subaru/Gary Fisher 42:19.0
8. Barbara Howe (USA) Vanderkitten 42:54.0
9. Alison Powers (USA) Team Fuji 43:12.0
10. Lisa Strong (USA) Natural Grocers p/b -1 lap
11. Lynn Bush (USA) Tough Girl / SCOTT -1 lap
12. Sarah Maile (USA) Ventana Mountain Bike -1 lap
13. Kori Kelley Seehafer (USA) Team Type 1 -1 lap
14. Kristal Boni (USA) Blue Sky Velo -1 lap
15. Lora Heckman (USA) Peloton Cycles – Spe -1 lap
16. Kathleen Hannon (USA) Freewheel/Hunter Cycles -1 lap
17. Cristina Begy (USA) Gates/Spot /Dales -1 lap
18. Lauren Costantini (USA) Blue Sky Velo -1 lap
19. Melanie Long (USA) Mafia Racing -2 laps
20. Lauren Hall (USA) Hudz-Subaru -2 laps
21. Susan Prieto (USA) Blue Sky Velo -2 laps
22. Lianna Miller (USA) Mafia Racing -2 laps
23. Catherine Johnson (USA) Rocky Mounts/ Izze -2 laps
24. Rebecca Much (USA) Webcor Builders -2 laps
DNS Lisa Curry (USA) GAS/Intrinsik
DNS Kate Scheider (USA) Mafia Racing
DNS Kathy Sherwin (USA) Velo Bella-Ellsworth

Elite Men

1. Timothy Johnson (USA) Cannondale/CycloCrossworld.com 1:07:02.0
2. Jeremy Powers (USA) Cannondale/CycloCrossworld.com 1:07:54.0
3. James Driscoll (USA) Cannondale/CycloCrossworld.com 1:07:54.0
4. Adam Craig (USA) Giant MTB Team 1:08:15.0
5. Troy Wells (USA) ClifBar 1:09:47.0
6. Jesse Anthony (USA) Jamis Bikes 1:09:49.0
7. Daniel Summerhill (USA) VMG/FELT 10:11.0
8. Jeremy Horgan-Kobelski (USA) Subaru/Gary Fisher 1:10:46.0
9. Zach McDonald (USA) Stevens/Classic Cycl 1:11:29.0
10. Brandon Dwight (USA) Boulder Cycle Sport 1:11:36.0
11. Joachim Carbo (Den) 1:12:02.0
12. Aaron Schooler (Can) Team H&R Block-Kona 1:12:03.0
13. Peter Webber (USA) Boulder Cycle Sport 1:12:10.0
14. Jake Wells (USA) MafiaRacing.com/Pabs 1:12:30.0
15. Matt Pacocha (USA) Hudz-Subaru 1:13:01.0
16. Carl Decker (USA) Giant MTB Team 1:13:51.0
17. Ryan Iddings (USA) Lapierre USA 1:14:14.0
18. Eric Tonkin (USA) Kona/FSA 1:14:32.0
19. Brady Kappius (USA) Team Clif Bar 1:15:39.0
20. Spencer Paxson (USA) Team S&M Young Guns -1 Lap
21. Allen Krughoff (USA) Team Rio Grande -1 Lap
22. Adam Snyder (USA) Team Jamis -2 Laps
23. Mitch Hoke (USA) Cliff Bar Developmen -2 Laps
24. Bradley White (USA) Hudz-Subaru -2 Laps
25. Tim Allen (USA) Sports Garage -2 Laps
26. Joshua Berry (USA) Smith Optics -3 Laps
27. Brad Cole (USA) Hudz/Subaru -3 Laps
28. Andrew Barker (USA) CLIF Bar Development -4 Laps
29. Jeremy Ferguson (USA) California Giant/Spe -4 Laps
30. Aaron Bouplon (USA) Rocky Mounts / Izze -4 Laps
31. Martin Guess (USA) Rocky Mountain Bicyc -4 Laps
32. Conor Mullervy (USA) dCLIF BAR developmen -4 Laps
33. Troy Heithecker (USA) -4 Laps
34. Chris Hurst (USA) Team Wheel and Sproc -5 Laps
35. Chad Melis (USA) Oskar Blues Brewery/ -5 Laps
36. Colin Cares (USA) Clif Bar Development -5 Laps
37. Charles Coyle (USA) Subaru/Vista Auto Gr -5 Laps
38. Bryan Mickiewicz (USA) MAFIA/HAMMER NUTRITI -5 Laps
39. Russell Finsterwald (USA) Team ClifBar -5 Laps
40. Michael Friedberg (USA) mafia -5 Laps
41. Brent Steinberg (USA) Wolverine Sports Clu -5 Laps
42. Jan Koles (USA) Mafia Racing -5 Laps
43. John Salskov (USA) Bicycle Haus Racing -5 Laps
44. Daniel Matheny (USA) Mafia/Westside -5 Laps
45. Katriel Statman (USA) Pioneer Racing -5 Laps
46. Russell Stevenson (USA) First Rate Mortgage -5 Laps
47. Andrew Llewellyn (USA) Texas Roadhouse -6 Laps
48. Joe Taddeucci (USA) Natural Grocers pb X -6 Laps
49. Geoffrey Nenninger (USA) Unattached -6 Laps
50. Darian Founds (USA) -6 Laps
51. Logan Vonbokel (USA) KCCX/ Verge -6 Laps
52. Chad Wells (USA) Hudz-Subaru Cyclocrs -7 Laps
53. Derek Loudermilk (USA) Horizon Organic p/b -7 Laps
54. Robert Sonora (USA) Durango Wheel Club -7 Laps
55. Lane Miller (USA) Louisville Cyclery -7 Laps
DNS Ryan Trebon (USA) Kona
DNS Geoff Kabush (Can) Maxxis/Rocky Mountain
DNS Andy Jacques-Maynes (USA) Bissell Pro Cycling
DNS Jason Siegle (USA) Bike Religion
DNS John Curry (USA) GAS/Intrinsik
DNS Matt Shriver (USA) Rocky Mountain Choco
DNS Grant Berry (USA) Rocky Mtn Choc Facto
DNF Christopher Jones (USA) Team Champion System
DNF Davide Frattini (Ita) Team Fuji
DNF Craig Richey (Can) Blue Competition Cycles
DNF Spencer Powlison (USA) Mafia Racing
DNF Taylor Carrington (USA) Team Lanterne Rouge
DNF Cody Cox (USA) Clif Bar Development
DNF Joseph Schmalz (USA) KCCX/Verge
DNF Shawn Harshman (USA) Konig Racing pb Hars
DNF Kevin Mullvery (USA) CLIF BAR Development
DNF Jesse Giordano (USA) Nob Hill Velo
DNF Jonathan Baker (USA) Hudz-Subaru Cyclocro

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.