Featured Stories

BC Road Champions 2012 Crowned at Robert W. Cameron Cycling Series – Report, Results

release by the Robert W. Cameron Cycling Series
June 02, 2012 (Victoria, BC) – Perhaps it’s fitting that BC’s newest road cycling champions – Kamloop’s Jenny Lehmann and Surrey’s Jacob Schwingboth – were today crowned almost a week after Ryder Hesjedal’s historic win on his stomping grounds at the 2012 Accent Inns BC Road Cycling Championships in Metchosin.

Trek Red Truck’s Lehmann finished in a sprint on the grueling 80-km (10-lap), windy hill route, ahead of Victoria’s Megan Rathwell (Russ Hay’s/Accent Inns) and last night’s Specialized/Russ Hay’s Time trial winner Kristine Brynjolfson (Trek Red Truck).  Most of the women’s pack kept together for the majority of the race, finishing in 2 hours, 32 minutes and 58 seconds.

Schwingboth and the top lead eight riders broke away early in the 120-km men’s race (12 laps), but he held on for a sprint at the end, ahead of Specialized/Russ Hay’s time trial winner Rob Britton (Team H&R Block) and Tim Abercrombie. The top five sprinted for a 3:08:43 finish.

Both Schwingboth and Lehmann hope to be BC’s and Canada’s next generation of cycling stars.  “I’m certainly aiming for the 2016 Olympics and to turn pro,” said Schwingboth, after being crowned B.C.’s best.

In the juniors’ race, Victoria’s Joel Taylor won the 80-km junior men’s race in 2:04:14 while Victori’a Sophie DeBoever won the 40-km junior women’s race in 1:22:45.

The Robert Cameron Law Cycling Series (RCLCS), June 1-3, 2012 concludes Sunday with the:
– 20th Annual The Condo Group Bastion Square Grand Prix – June 3 (starting at 8 a.m. with the last race, the men’s elite, starting at 1 pm)
– Tim Hortons Timbit Challenge – for kids aged 5 to 10; free event, but limited to first pre-registered 150 participants.

To register or for more information click HERE. (RCLCS website)

Results (brief)


1. Jenny Lehmann (Trek Red Truck) 2:32:58
2. Megan Rathwell (Russ Hay’s/Accent Inns)
3. Kristine Brynjolfson (Trek Red Truck)


1. Jacob Schwingboth (Surrey) 3:08:43
2. Rob Britton (Team H&R Block)
3. Tim Abercrombie

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.