Featured Stories

B.C. Continues to Dominate Junior/U17/Para 2017 Canadian Track Championships + PHOTOS

release by Cycling Canada

April 02, 2017 (Milton, Ontario) – Saturday, Day 2 of the 2017 Canadian Track Championships p/b Lexus for Junior, Under-17 and Para cyclists, saw titles awarded for men and women in four different events, for a total of 14 national titles.

Maggie Coles-Lyster  ©  Ivan Rupes

Once again, British Columbia was the big winner, with seven titles, followed by five for Ontario.  In the Para competition, Alberta and Quebec were the winners.

Maggie Coles-Lyster (l) and Charlotte Creswicke  ©  Ivan Rupes
Maggie Coles-Lyster (TaG Cycling) swept all three of the Junior Women titles, winning the Sprint, Elimination race and Points Race.  This brings Coles-Lyster’s total to five gold and one silver medal in the six Junior events contested so far.

Riley Pickrell  ©  Ivan Rupes
She is closely followed by fellow B.C rider Riley Pickrell (Tripleshot Cycling) in the Under-17 Men, who won two titles – Points Race and Sprint – to bring his total to five gold medals.

Sarah Van Dam  ©  Ivan Rupes
A third B.C. rider, Sarah van Dam (Tripleshot Cycling), also won two titles in the Points Race and the Elimination Race, in the Under-17 Women category, bringing her total to four national titles.

Michael Foley  ©  Ivan Rupes
Ontario’s Michael Foley (La Bicicletta Cycling) won two gold medals in the Junior Men’s category, in the Points Race and Elimination Race, bringing his total to three for the national championships.

Je'Land Sydney leads Nick Wammes  ©  Ivan Rupes
In other Ontario results, Je’land Sydney (Kallisto-FVC p/b Peloton Contracting) added the Junior Men’s Sprint title, Madison Dempster (Midweek Cycling) took the Under-17 Women’s Sprint title – her second of the Championships – and Dylan Bibic (Midweek Cycling) won the Under-17 Men’s Elimination title.  Bibic, at only 13 years old, is one of the revelations of the Championships.

Dylan Bibic  ©  Ivan Rupes

In Para competition, the Alberta tandem team of Carla Shibley and Erin Ruttan won the women’s competition, while the Quebec team of Mathieu Croteau Daigle and Benoit Lussier took the Men’s tandem title.

Carla Shibley and Erin Ruttan  ©  Ivan Rupes
The Championships conclude on Sunday with national titles awarded in Team Pursuit, Team Sprint, Madison and Time Trials for Junior and Under-17 women and men, as well as Time Trials for the Para categories.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.