Featured Stories

Alberta 2007 Provincial Road Race Championships

August 27, 2007 (Lacombe, Alberta) – On Sunday, August 26, Alberta featured single-digit temperatures and plenty of rain which delighted the 118 riders assembled to contest the 2007 Alberta Provincial Championship Road Race near Lacombe, in central Alberta. The race was held on an out-and-back course just north of Sylvan Lake which featured a number of rolling hills, in addition to the dismal weather.

Due to the wretched, disgusting weather, the Category 1/2 race was shortened from the planned 146 kms to 101 kms. The shorter distance resulted in an entertaining and aggressive race won solo by La-Z-Boy standout Jamie Sparling. Sparling, feeling at home in the Victoria-in-winter like conditions, was not eligible for the provincial title as he carries a B.C. license. Instead, the provincial title went to Anthony Steenbergen of Team H&R Block, who led in a chase group of four riders.

The other groups finished together for the most part, with Carrie Tuck, also of Team H&R Block, winning the women’s race and claiming her second provincial road race championship. Thanks to Jeff Klassen and the Central Alberta Bicycle Club for their organizing efforts, and the Alberta sheriffs for their efforts in keeping the course secure.


Men Category 1/2 – 101 kms
1. James Sparling (La-Z-Boy Cycling) 2:30:02
2. Anthony Steenbergen (Team H&R Block) 2:32:29
3. Jesse Collins (bicisport)
4. Peter Toth (Juventus)
5. Stephen Ferris (ERTC/redbike) 2:32:31
6. Shawn Goulet (Pedalhead Road Works) 2:33:51
7. Bob Veroba (bicisport)
8. Chris Mcneil (Team H&R Block)
9. Lukas Jedras (Pedalhead Road Works)
10. Devin Erfle (Deadgoat)
11. Gideon Krishtalka (Team H&R Block)
12. Jared Green (TRS Racing)
13. Trev Williams (TRS Racing)
14. Dennis Bland (TRS Racing)
15. Shawn Bunnin (bicisport) 2:37:44
16. Eric Bakke (Deadgoat) 2:38:00
17. Tim Heemskerk (United Cycle)
18. Harley Borlee (Team H&R Block) 2:38:13
19. Dave Jetz (Team H&R Block) 2:39:47
dnf Stuart Hughes (Team H&R Block)
dnf Nick Jendzjowsky (Pedalhead Road Works)
dnf Graham Rudge (ERTC/redbike)
dnf Philippe Abbott (Italpasta/Transport Belmire)
dnf Guri Randhawa (Pedalhead Road Works)
dnf Shawn Taylor (Team H&R Block)
dnf Aaron Schooler (ERTC/redbike)
dnf Jeff Bolstad (Team H&R Block)

Women Category A, B – 70 kms
1. Carrie Tuck (Team H&R Block) 1:54:40
2. Pepper Harlton (Juventus)
3. Amy Woodward (CMC/Bow Cycle)
4. Judy Harlton (Juventus)
5. Joanne Breau (bicisport)
6. Melanie Zinck (Team H&R Block)
7. Krystyn Ong (Juventus)
8. Shantal Koenig (Independent) 2:00:50
9. Mackenzie Mccormick (Juventus) 2:05:41
10. Jolea Bilodeau (Blizzard) 2:06:24
11. Ellen Sparling (bicisport) 2:11:33

Men Category 3 – 101 kms
1. Justin Middleton (Juventus) 2:40:03
2. Dallas Morris (Team H&R Block)
3. Brian Robinson (CMC/Bow Cycle)
4. Jon Nutbrown (Ridley’s Cycle)
5. Aaron Chappell (ERTC/redbike)
6. Steve Martins (Hardcore)
7. Keith Bayly (Synergy)
8. Don King (CMC/Bow Cycle)
9. Jason Proche (Pedalhead Road Works)
10. Matthew Ohagan (Independent)
11. Zbigniew Szymanski (United Cycle)
12. James Mollison (CMC/Bow Cycle)
13. James Purdy (bicisport)
14. Mark Rumsey (Hardcore)
15. Tommy Mak (Eurotech)
16. Phil Macdonald (Team H&R Block)
17. Frank Woolstencroft (TRS Racing)
18. Andre Sutton (Hardcore)
19. Tracy Shearer (Juventus)
20. Neal Gregory (CMC/Bow Cycle)
21. Michael Johns (CABC) 3:02:08
dnf Leroy Brower (Pedalhead Road Works)
dnf Wayne Long (United Cycle)
dnf David Larson (Juventus)

Men Category 4 – 101 kms
1. Craig Schmitt (Pedalhead Road Works) 2:42:45
2. Steven Johnson (Independent)
3. Jon Benskin (United Cycle)
4. Alan Underhill (Pedalhead Road Works)
5. Bill Quinney (The Bike Shop)
6. Thomas Auer (Calgary Cycle)
7. Stephen Reid (Pedalhead Road Works)
8. Andrew Schietzsch (Juventus)
9. Cory Dickinson (United Cycle)
10. Julie Beveridge (bicisport)
11. Spencer Hall (bicisport)
12. Larry Welsh (Independent)
13. Kyle Harris (Pedalhead Road Works)
14. Roy Quade (Crankmasters)
15. Alex Mccormick (Juventus)
16. Robert Reid (Rundle Mountain CC)
17. Scott Book (ERTC/redbike)
18. Craig Fraser (Calgary Cycle)
19. Shannon Hein (United Cycle)
20. Peter Knight (United Cycle)
21. Darin Schacker (Juventus) 2:50:20
22. Doug Urness (CABC) 2:50:43
23. Tom Mumby (Juventus) 2:50:47
24. Jeff Bell (Highwood CC) 2:54:45
25. Bill Blonski (bicisport) 3:27:27
dnf Blaine Richter (ERTC/redbike)
dnf Stephen Andrichuk (CMC/Bow Cycle)
dnf Ryan Campbell (bicisport)
dnf Jan Goh (Pedalhead Road Works)
dnf Mike Mckee (Deadgoat)

Men Category 5 – 70 kms
1. Alex Shaw (Speed Theory) 1:49:18
2. Logan Brauer (Velocity) 1:49:31
3. Chris Dittrick (CMC/Bow Cycle)
4. Don Huber (Highwood CC)
5. Eric Wong (bicisport)
6. Peter Macewen (Independent)
7. Scott Donaldson (Independent)
8. Cody Godlonton (Highwood CC)
9. Lorne Dmitruk (9th Street Cycle-logic)
10. Jason Buijs (Eurotech Cycle)
11. Al Gilbert (CABC)
12. Michael Godfrey (Crankmasters)
13. John Encarnacao (United Cycle)
14. Colter Young (Blizzard)
15. Gerhard Jacobs (Cranky’s Bike Shop)
16. Keith Batstone (Independent)
17. Trevor Pombert (United Cycle)
18. Aaron Sands (Independent) 1:49:42
19. Ryan Petersen (Velocity) 1:50:22
20. Antonio Bilotta (Pedalhead Road Works) 1:53:50
21. James Janzen (Crankmasters)
22. Hendrik Vanjaarsveldt (Independent)
23. Darcy Gullacher (Crankmasters)
24. David Todd (Juventus) 1:54:15
25. Richard Cairney (ERTC/redbike) 2:02:00
26. Bradley Nixon (bicisport) 2:12:01

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.