Featured Stories

Air Force Cycling Classic Clarendon Cup, Results – Numainville Wins, Kirchmann 2nd

report by Team TIBCO/To the Top

June 11, 2011 (Arlington, VA) – Canada was 1-2 in the women’s 50km Clarendon Cup on Saturday at the Air Force Cycling Classic, now in it’s 14th year, with Joelle Numainville (Tibco/To the Top) taking the win. Leah Kirchmann (Colavita-Forno D’Asolo) finished second ahead of her teammate Lauren Hall. Hilton Clarke (United Healthcare pb Maxxis) won the men’s 100km race over Carlos Alzate (Team Exergy) in second with Adrian Hegyvary in third.

Tibco/To the Top Report – Numainville takes the sprint win at Clarendon Cup
Having strength in numbers for a race is good. Having a sprinter who can payoff the strong work of her teammates in the finish is gold. And Canadian Road Champion Joelle Numainville of Team Tibco/To the Top was golden this morning in Arlington, winning the Clarendon Cup after a long sprint ahead of Canadian Criterium Champion Leah Kirchmann. The Team showed its depth by also taking 4th and 5th with Joanne Kiesanowski and Samantha Schneider respectively

“The girls rode really well today,” said Team Directeur Sportif Lisa Hunt. “Colavita was very aggressive but we were always in position to cover moves when something looked dangerous. And Meredith (Miller) and Jo put in strong attacks of their own in the middle of the race. Joelle got in a good move early as well and that put some pressure on the rest of the bunch.”

“It was a really animated race even though it was hot and long,” Miller said. “There were constant attacks throughout the entire race. There was only one time where there was a slight lull, and that didn’t last long. It was just on the whole time. It was good to see everyone racing so aggressively.”

Despite the steady stream of attacks from a number of different teams during the 50 km race, the race was all together with four laps to go. It was at that point that Tara Whitten, in her first race with the team, took to the front of the bunch and drove it.

“Tara did a great job in her first race,” Hunt said. “She hasn’t done a lot of criteriums and it took her a little while to get fully integrated. She’s super strong, and she got progressively better with positioning as the race went on. By the end, she put herself at the front more and more often.”

Team TIBCO had control of the front for much of the final laps until an attack by Janel Holcomb with two to go upset the apple cart a bit.

“I jumped to bring her back, “Miller said, “and it took me nearly a lap to reel her back in. Just as we were coming up on one lap to go, it was all back together.”

“The attack disrupted our lead-out a bit,” Hunt added. “But Joelle was in perfect position in the final lap in second or third wheel, and was able to come around and hold her sprint to the line.”

The Air Force Classic continues Sunday with the Crystal City Cup, also in Virginia.

“Everyone did their jobs today,” Hunt said, “but tomorrow I want to be more on the offensive. I’m confident we can win again.”

Tomorrow’s is almost 2 km, longer than today’s course, but the race will be just 60 minutes compared to today’s 75 minutes.

“The sprint out of the last corner is 500-600 meters long,” Miller said, “so the lead-out train for Joelle will be crucial. Last year, the winner came from a three-person break, so we’ll also be on the lookout for that, too. We’re confident that we can win from a break, and we’re equally confident that we can repeat with the field sprint win. And because this is an omnium format here, with Joelle being first, Jo in fourth and Sam in fifth, we need to make sure that they get the most points too, since we’re not just focused on winning the day, but also winning the overall.”


Elite Women
1. Joelle Numainville (Tibco/To the Top) 1:14:55
2. Leah Kirchmann (Colavita Forno d’Asolo Pro Cycling Team)

3. Lauren Hall (COLAVITA FORNO)
4. Jo Kiesanowski (Tibco/To the Top)
5. Samantha Schneider (Tibco/To the Top)
6. Kacey Manderfield (Pure Energy Cycling-ProAirHFA)
7. Modesta Vzesniauskaite (COLAVITA FORNO)
8. Cath Cheatley (COLAVITA FORNO)
9. Emily Thurston (Battley Harley-Davidson)
10. Lauren Tomayo (Peanut Butter & Co Twenty12)
11. Jennifer Rasmusson (Team Kenda p/b Geargrinder)
12. Janel Holcomb (COLAVITA FORNO)
13. Carmen Small (Tibco/To the Top)
14. Kelly Benjamin (COLAVITA FORNO)
15. Erin Silliman (VA Asset Group p/b Artemis/Trek)
16. Rushlee Buchanan (COLAVITA FORNO)
17. Lindsay Honaker (X/O Communications/Battley Harley-Davidson)
18. Tara Whitten (Tibco/To the Top)
19. Megan Guarnier (Tibco/To the Top)
20. Jennifer Maxwell (Team Kenda p/b Geargrinder)
21. Monika Sattler (X/O Communications/Battley Harley-Davidson)
22. Lenore Pipes (GUAM NATIONAL)
23. Kristin Sanders (COLAVITA FORNO)
24. Emma Swatman (Battley Harley-Davidson)
25. Rachel Warner (Missing Links Coaching & Training Systems)
26. Arley Kemmerer (CAWES p/b Specialized)
27. Emma Mackie (Tibco/To the Top)
28. Meredith Miller (Tibco/To the Top)

Elite Men
1. Hilton Clarke (UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling) 2:16:36
2. Carlos Alzate (Team Exergy)
3. Adrian Hegyvary (UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling)
4. Robert Forster (UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling)
5. Karl Menzies (UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling)
6. Alexey Shmiidt (Team Type I-Sanofi Aventis)
7. Luke Keough (Team Mountain Khakis p/b SmartStop)
8. Martijn Vershoor (Team Type I-Sanofi Aventis)
9. Jake Keough (UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling)
10. Patrik Moren (Amore-Vita)
11. Freddie Rodriguez (Team Exergy)
12. Kyle Wamsley (Bissell)
13. Roman Van Uden (Pure Black)
14. Daniel Holloway (Kelly Benefit Strategies-OptumHealth)
15. Phillip Mamos (Amore-Vita)
16. John Jackie Simes (Jamis – Sutter Home)
17. Neil Bezdek (Team Mountain Khakis p/b SmartStop)
18. Sergiy Grechyn (Amore-Vita)
19. Mark Langlands (Pure Black)
20. Thomas Soladay (Kelly Benefit Strategies-OptumHealth)
21. Vladislav Bonsov (Amore-Vita)
22. Charles Hutcheson (X/O Communications Battley Harley-Davidson)
23. Mical Smit Larsen (Denmark National Team)
24. James Mccoy (Pure Black)
25. Jerome Townsend (Team Mountain Khakis p/b SmartStop)
26. Bernardo Colextepoz (Amore-Vita)
27. Jacob Mueller (Kelly Benefit Strategies/Lateral Stress Velo)
28. Peter Hurst (BikeReg.com/Cannondale)
29. Todd Hesel (Kelly Benefit Strategies/Lateral Stress Velo)
30. Thacker Reeves (Chipotle Development Team)
31. Thomas Brown (Team Mountain Khakis p/b SmartStop)
32. Joshua Dillon (BikeReg.com/Cannondale)
33. Charles Eldridge (Team Type I-Sanofi Aventis)
34. Sean Barrie (X/O Communications Battley Harley-Davidson)
35. Aldo Ino Ilesic (Team Type I-Sanofi Aventis)
36. Eric Schildge (Jamis – Sutter Home)
37. Kevin Gottlieb (Kelly Benefit Strategies/Lateral Stress Velo)
38. Andrea Grendene (Team Type I-Sanofi Aventis)
39. Marsh Cooper (Kelly Benefit Strategies-OptumHealth)
40. Robin Carpenter (BikeReg.com/Cannondale)
41. Gavriel Epstein (Chipotle Development Team)
42. Christian Bbertilsson (CycleCity)
43. Andres Diaz (Team Exergy)
44. Adam Myerson (Team Mountain Khakis p/b SmartStop)
45. Andrew Pinfold (UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling)
46. Boy Van Poppel (UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling)
47. Jonathan Mumford (Kelly Benefit Strategies-OptumHealth)
48. Jonny Clarke (UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling)
49. Eric Young (Bissell)
50. Shane Kline (Bissell)
51. Max Korus (BikeReg.com/Cannondale)
52. Soren Petersen (Denmark National Team)

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.