Featured Stories

ABA News – New Website Launch

January 13, 2009 – Lots is going on at the ABA these days, including the launch of a new website, the announcement of the 2009 Race Organizer Meeting, updates from Alberta cyclocross racers in Europe, and Albertans being honoured in Pedal Magazine’s 2008 Canadian Cycling Awards.

ABA New Website Launch
The Alberta Bicycle Association is excited to announce the launch of the next generation web site for www.albertabicycle.ab.ca. The re-designed site features a design that is easier for members to find the information they are looking for and the Racing on Rails system for event the calendar and results. The ABA would like to thank Thomas Yip for developing the site.

2009 Race Organizer Meeting – January 19 and 26
The 2009 Race organizers meetings will take place on January 19th and 26th in Edmonton and Calgary. The meetings will be different from last year as it’s to be much more interactive, which will benefit any new organizers and should also help experienced organizers refresh themselves with new ideas. If you can’t attend the meeting please ensure you at least send a representative to one of the meetings.

Organizers should ensure that they stay in touch with the ABA coordinators. Feel free to speak with Roddi or Cam about any concerns or questions you may have (toll free 1 877 646 2453).

Monday, January 19th 6:30 — 9:00pm,
Percy Page Center, Meeting Room #8, 3rd Floor

Calgary :
Monday, January 26th 6:30 — 9:00pm,
Location TBD

Alberta Cyclocross Racers in Europe
Follow Aaron Schooler (H & R Block) on his journey to the UCI World Cyclo-Cross Championships as he prepares in Europe at his blog here.

Canada House in Holland which includes Brian Robinson (CMC/Bow Cycle) and Tim Heemskerk (United Cycle) have been taking part in a number of Cyclo-Cross races. Follow their travels www.cyclocrossteam.nl%2F&id=preview“>here or at Tim Heemskerk’s blog here.

Albertans Named Cyclist of the Year
Canada has voted and Alberta’s Brayden McDougall (cerebral palsy – CP3) is the first winner of our new award category for Best Paracycling Cyclist (Male or Female) and Samantha Cools (BMX) in the Pedal Magazine’s 2008 Canadian Cycling Award winners – congratulations to these great athletes.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.