Featured Stories

5 National Records Set at Ontario Track Provincial Championships

by Ben Andrew

March 10, 2017 (Milton, ON) – The 2017 Ontario Track Cycling Provincial Championships were held from March 3-5 at the Mattamy National Cycling Centre in Milton, Ontario. A record number of racers attended the event with 211 cyclists from across the province riding the boards. The racing was fast, with five national records being set over the course of the three days of competition.

Madison Dempster  ©  Peter Kraiker
Madison Dempster set a new U17 Women’s 200m record with a time of 12.555, while Sydney Flageole-Bray set a U17 Men’s 2000m Pursuit record with a time of 2:18.893.

Sydney Flageole-Bray  ©  Peter Kraiker
Flageole-Bray bested his own record of 2:20.732 which he set in early February of the Eastern Challenge also held at the National Cycling Centre – check out our interview with him here.

James McLean  ©  Peter Kraiker
Master A rider James McLean set a new Men’s 200m record with a time of 11.697, while Steve McKee established a Master B Men’s record in the 3000m Pursuit with a time of 3:30.974.

Steve McKee  ©  Peter Kraiker
Finally, in the Master D Men’s category, Lorne Falkenstein rode a record-breaking time of 2:30.624 in the 2,000m Pursuit.

Lorne Falkenstein  ©  Peter Kraiker
With high attendance and fast times being record, the state of track cycling in Ontario seems to be healthy and growing.

Release by Ontario Cycling here.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.