Featured Stories

3 Cycling Coaches Win 2009 Petro-Canada Coaching Excellence Award

release by the CCA

November 5, 2009 – CCA is pleased to announce the names of the 46 coaches honoured with a Petro-Canada Coaching Excellence Award for 2009. These prestigious awards recognize coaches whose athletes excelled at various world championships and at the Special Olympics World Winter Games.

“The Petro-Canada Coaching Excellence Awards are this country’s most important forum for coach recognition,” says John Bales, Chief Executive Officer, Coaching Association of Canada. “Without these awards, the accomplishments of most of our great coaches could well go unnoticed.”

This CCA year’s winners are:

Eric Van Den Eynde of Saint-Hilaire, Que., coach of cyclist Tara Whitten, track silver medallist, and of Daniel Chalifour, Para-cycling bronze medallist.

Richard Wooles of Vancouver, coach of track cyclist Zach Bell, winner of the Omnium silver medal.

Pierre Pomerleau of Charlesbourg, Que., coach of Para-cyclist Robert Labbé, time trial world champion.

“When our Canadian athletes reach the podium, it is not without the support and dedication of a coach.” says Steven Keith, Director of Olympic Activation, Petro-Canada. “We are proud to continue Petro-Canada’s tradition of honouring Canada’s coaches for their dedication to sport.”

The awards will be presented during Petro-Canada Sport Leadership sportif 2009, scheduled to take place in Vancouver, November 12-15, 2009. The Sport Leadership Awards Ceremony will take place on Friday, November 13, 2009, at 6:30 pm at the Sheraton Vancouver Wall Centre Grand Ballroom.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.