Featured Stories

28th Annual Tour de Beauce Features 19 Pro Teams and 130 Riders

release by Cycling Canada Cyclisme

June 03, 2013 (St-Georges, QC) – The Tour de Beauce, cycling’s premier stage race in Canada, returns this year for a 28th consecutive year, and promises once again a field that includes some of the best cyclists in North America.

The Tour de Beauce, sanctioned as UCI 2.2 event, annually hosts cycling teams from Canada, the United States and around the world for a six-stage cycling race on the roads of the majestic Chaudière-Appalaches and Québec regions, in the province of Quebec. This year, the Tour de Beauce will feature more 130 cyclists from 19 professional cycling teams.

During its 28 editions, the Tour de Beauce crowned champions from Canada, the United States, France, Australia, Poland, Ukraine, Spain, the Czech Republic, Moldova and New Zealand.

“The Tour de Beauce remains one of the most respected cycling events on the calendar. Year after year, teams from across North America and Europe make the journey to Beauce and participate in the race – and this year is no exception to the tradition,” commented Francis Rancourt, Organizer and Executive Director of the Tour de Beauce.


And the Canadian National Team will be a force to reckon, with four of its seven riders racing with UCI WorldTour teams: Guillaume Boivin (Cannondale), Dominique Rollin (FDJ), Christian Meier (Orica-GreenEdge) and Hugo Houle (AG2R La Mondiale). Notably, both Rollin and Meier just took part in the prestigious Giro d’Italia. Houle finished second in the general classification last year at the Tour de Beauce.

Of the 19 teams, six are from Canada, nine from the United States and three from international countries: Dominican Republic, Hong Kong, Mexico and Ukraine.

However, the opposition will be strong with the presence of the Champion System Pro Cycling Team, led by Ed Beamon as the Directeur Sportif, winner of many times at the Tour de Beauce. Two-time Tour de Beauce champion Ben Day comes back this year with UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling Team that feature many international riders. Also from the United States, the fans will be able to see in action pro-continental teams such as Team Novo-Nordisk, 5 HR Energy/Kenda Cycling Team with 2011 Champion Fransesco Mancebo and Bissel Pro Cycling managed by Axel Merkx.

Hincapie Sportswear Development Cycling Team, Jamis-Hagens Berman, Astellas Oncology Cycling Team, and the Century Road Club Association from the United States will also be coming strong to the Tour de Beauce. From Western Canada, Team H&R Block will be among the teams on the start lines. The National Mexican Team and Team Injeta from the Dominican Republic will also offer some interesting styles to the peloton.

Many teams are hailing from the province of Québec: Équipe Garneau-Quebecor, Équipe cycliste Ekoï-DeVinci, Team Médique p/b Silber Investments et Norco Bicycle/Premier Tech.

The Tour de Beauce is organized for the second consecutive year on the eve of the Canadian Road Championships, also organized by the Corporation des Grand Prix cyclistes de Beauce.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.