Featured Stories

24 Hours of Adrenalin Crowns 2014 Winners – Report, Full Results, Photos – Epic 20th Edition in 2015

release by 24 Hours of Adrenalin
Evening sets in on the 19th annual 24H of Adrenalin  ©  Gibson Pictures
July 20, 2014 (Canmore, AB) – The 24 Hours of Adrenalin Canmore started with 120 riders in 1995, and 19 years later the sold-out 1,600 person field was treated to some of the best course conditions and riding weather in the history of the event. While the race started and finished under sunny skies, cloud cover and a brief night shower kept the temperatures and dust down during the riding.

Nadine Mueller  ©  Gibson Pictures

Falling on the same date as the Canadian Nationals meant that some elite riders were missing from the field, but with riders like National Marathon Champion Cory Wallace, Mongolia Bike Challenge Champion Cath Williamson and multiple Masters’ World and National Champions in the field, there was enough pace to make the open category racing very competitive.

Craig Bartlett meets his match...  ©  Gibson Pictures

This year’s solo racing field was limited to less than 50 athletes and while defending women’s champion Nadine Mueller lapped her competition on the way to a comfortable victory, both the men’s under-40 and 40+ races ended up with multiple riders on the same lap fighting for the win. Ryan Gardiner held off Yannick Bouet to win the under-40 category while Canmore’s Craig Bartlett, a former World 24 Hours age group champion, won the 40+ in impressive fashion while riding a single-speed.

In the team categories, the standings after a late night shuffle of places held steady as Team Onyerleft won the overall and the 6+ Person Category with a total of 26 laps finished. In second place overall, and first in the 5-person team field were the Cowboys of Mass Destruction who completed their 25th lap just before the 1:00pm cut off time. Third place and first place in the 4-person competition was won by the Tenacious Team who were the fastest of the finishers who completed 24 hours.

A rider speeds past the tent village at the Canmore 24 Hours of Adrenalin on Sunday.  ©  Pam Doyle

Planning for the celebratory 20th Anniversary edition of the 24 Hours of Adrenalin Canmore, scheduled for July 18-19, 2015, is already underway and both team and solo spots are expected to fill quickly when registration opens Monday July 21st. Full information on the 24 Hours of Adrenalin including links to 2015 registration are available at www.24hoursofadrenalin.com.

Full results here.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.