Featured Stories

2016 Ontario MTB Cup Series Concludes with Provincial Championships at Sir Sam’s

release by Superfly Racing

September 12, 2016 (Haliburton, ON) – They often say “Save the best for last”, and this was certainly the case for the incredible series finale that took place at Haliburton’s Sir Sam’s Ski and Ride. After a tumultuous season with some tough weather conditions, Saturday’s light rains coupled with the venues good drainage and a cold front made for perfect racing conditions!

Elite Men's podium (l-r) Disera 2nd, Zandstra 1st, Ross 3rd  ©  courtesy of Superfly Racing
Highlighting this incredible event is the best atmosphere of the series, with on-site camping, a 100 person banquet Saturday Night, and the prettiest location on the circuit. Add to this the best mix of trails in the series, and the kings and queens of Ontario Mountain Biking were certainly crowned this past weekend.

Master Expert Men (30-39 years)  ©  courtesy of Superfly Racing
Taking the win in the Elite Men’s division was none other than 3Rox Racing’s Derek Zandstra, with Peter Disera of Norco nipping at his heels in second. Rounding out the top 3 was AWI Racing’s Davis Ross. In Elite Women, little known Jenn Jackson of Midhurst took the win, with series leader Elyse Nieuwold of PHI Hotel Group in second. Third place went to Soren Meeuwisse of Trek Canada. Taking the win in the Junior Expert Men division was Quinton Disera of Angry Johnny’s Racing, while the fastest Junior Expert Woman was Erica Leonard also of Angry Johnny’s.

Enjoying the view  ©  courtesy of Superfly Racing
Other highlights of this most memorable day was Oscar Clark of Rock and Road winning the Scott Little Ripper bike – going to the most improved and enthusiastic youth rider of the series, and the overall family atmosphere of this near-north destination. Families racing together, kids playing and a fun vibe will ensure a strong series in successive years. Thanks to all the participants, sponsors, and great venues for continuing the Ontario Cups legacy of the best provincial series in the country!

Full results here.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.