Featured Stories

U23/Elite Women’s RR Results, Photos @2016 Global Relay p/b Lexus Road Nationals Day 1

by pedalmag.com
Foreman Mackey all smiles starting the final lap  ©  Alan Dempsey
June 25, 2016 (Ottawa, ON) – Annie Foreman-Mackey (The Cyclery-Opus) delivered a big win for local fans in the Elite Women’s 110km road race as she pulled off a superb final attack to solo in for a stellar victory and her first national road title at the 2016 Global Relay p/b Lexus Road Championships.

Four leaders  ©  Alan Dempsey

She and two other riders, Alize Brien (Tibco) and Gillian Ellsay (Trek Red Truck) merged to early escapee Jamie Gilgen (Visit Dallas) as the pack dawdled behind. Ellsay was dropped and then Gilgen faded as well leaving two leaders with Leah Kirchmann (Liv Plantur) trying to rally the pack in vain. With two to go Foreman-Mackey dropped Brien and never looked back for the biggest win of her career.

Final E W podium  ©  Alan Dempsey
Two former champs Joelle Numainville (QC) Cervelo Bigla Pro Cycling Team and Leah Kirchmann (ON) Team Liv-Plantur finished second and third.

Final E W podium celebrations  ©  Alan Dempsey

Foreman-Mackey’s teammate Ariane Bonhomme (QC) won the U23 Women’s title with Sara Poidevin (ON) Rally Cycling in second and Kinley Gibson (AB) Trek Red Truck p/b Mosaic Homes third.

Full report and more photos here.


1. Annie Foreman-Mackey (ON) The Cyclery-Opus 2:52:44
2. Joelle Numainville (QC) Cervelo Bigla Pro Cycling Team 01:18
3. Leah Kirchmann (ON) Team Liv-Plantur
4. Tara Whitten (AB) The Cyclery-Opus
5. Alison Jackson (AB) Twenty16 RideBiker
6. Sara Bergen (BC) Trek Red Truck p/b Mosaic Homes
7. Ariane Bonhomme* (QC) The Cyclery-Opus
8. Sara Poidevin* (ON) Rally Cycling
9. Kinley Gibson* (AB) Trek Red Truck p/b Mosaic Homes
10. Lex Albrecht (QC) BePink
11. Karol-Ann Canuel (QC) Boels Dolmans Cyclingteam
12. Marie-Soleil Blais (QC) Cycle Neron/Specialized
13. Elisabeth Albert (QC) Independent
14. Diane Moug (AB) Folsom Bike / Trek
15. Justine Clift (BC) The Cyclery-Opus
16. Frederique Larose Gingras* (QC) ƒquipe du Qu_bec
17. Gabrielle Pilote-Fortin (QC) Cervelo Bigla Pro Cycling Team
18. Catherine Ouellette* (QC) Rally Cycling
19. Ashley Barson (ON) Rise Racing
20. Emily Flynn (ON) The Cyclery-Opus
21. Marine Lewis* (QC) Bicycles Quilicot
22. Adriane Provost (QC) SAS-Macogep-Acquisio p/p Mazda
23. Allyson Gillard* (QC) TRJ T_l_com – Desjardins Ford
24. Am_Lie Bruneau* (QC) The Cyclery-Opus
25. Denise Ramsden (BC) Trek Red Truck p/b Mosaic Homes
26. Luce Bourbeau (QC) SAS-Macogep-Acquisio p/p Mazda
27. Helene Pilote Fortin (QC) Stingray/Trek/Lacasse 01:27
28. Ellen Watters (NB) The Cyclery-Opus
29. Miriam Brouwer (ON) The Cyclery-Opus
30. Elyse Nieuwold (ON) PHI Hotel Group/P-K Express p/b Holiday
31. Evelyne Gagnon  (QC) Stingray/Trek/Lacasse
32. Carrie Cartmill (ON) The Cyclery-Opus  01:33
33. Lindsay Sferrazza (ON) Kallisto-FCV p/b Toyo Tires  06:19
34. Sarah Anne Rasmussen (QC) SAS-Macogep-Acquisio p/p Mazda 07:22
35. Isabelle Mayrand (QC) Equipe Iris
36. Alize Brien (QC) Team TIBCO – Silicon Valley Bank 07:28


Full results here.

U23 Women (brief)
1. Ariane Bonhomme (QC) The Cyclery-Opus    2:54:02
2. Sara Poidevin (AB) Rally Cycling
3. Kinley Gibson (AB) Trek Red Truck p/b Mosaic Homes

Full results here.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.