Featured Stories

Perry and Gibson Win 2016 Global Relay p/b Lexus Road National Criteriums – Coles-Lyster and Penno Take Junior Titles + PHOTOS

by pedalmag.com
Perry wins Elite Men's Crit  ©  Ivan Rupes
June 29, 2016 (Aylmer, QC) – Clear skies greeted riders for the final Criterium event of the 2016 Global Relay Canadian Road Championships p/b Lexus in Aylmer, Quebec that saw Benjamin Perry (ON) Silber Pro Cycling successfully defend his Elite/U23 men’s title while Alberta’s Kinley Gibson (Trek Red Truck p/b Mosaic Homes) claimed the Elite/U23 women’s crown.

Kinley wins Elite Women's Crit  ©  Ivan Rupes

Maggie Coles-Lyster (TaG Race Team) from B.C. raced to victory in the Junior Women’s field while Kurt Penno from Manitoba delivered a victory for the Accent Inns/Russ Hays p/b Champion Sytem squad in the Junior Men’s race. The day was highlighted by the announcement of Team Canada’s Cycling and Paracycling squads for Rio 2016 here.

Kurt Penno  ©  Ivan Rupes
The stately British Hotel was the backdrop for start/finish of the 1.4km course as the Junior Women lined up for their 30-min + 3 Lap race. B.C.’s Coles-Lyster and Simone Boilard (QC) Équipe du Québec, the new TT champ, set the pace with an early lead that they never relinquished as Coles-Lyster took win. Erin J Attwell (BC) Cycling BC, who won the RR title, took the bunch sprint for third at 12s behind.

Maggie Coles-Lyster  ©  Ivan Rupes
A total of 78 riders lined up for the Junior Men’s 45-min + 3-lap race. The fast pace saw a lead group of 20+ riders form as the field was starting to shed riders off the back. In the end all were pulled leaving the leaders at the front to battle it out. The final selection of nine took it down to a bunch sprint with Penno emerging as the winner followed by Québec’s Tristan Guillemette (Équipe du Québec) in second and Charles-Étienne Chrétien (IAMGOLD) in third.

Kinley Gibson (l) and Justine Clift  ©  Ivan Rupes
A fast pace saw several early attacks in the Elite/U23 Women’s 60-min+3lap race by Gibson and Denise Ramsden (YT) from Trek Red Truck p/b Mosaic Homes along with Cyclery-Opus riders Justine Clift (BC) and Ellen Watters (NB). Nothing would stick as the field was splintered and a lead group of 15-20 riders formed – then the attacks began again.

Elite/U23 Women's podium celebrates (l-r) Clift 2nd, Gibson 1st, Watters 3rd  ©  Ivan Rupes
Gibson and Clift got a gap that grew as Jamie Gilgen (ON) Visit Dallas DNA Pro Cycling led the chase to reel them in. The gap stretched to almost a minute as others took to the front but the leaders kept advancing. Gibson attacked Clift as the gap started to drop but it was done deal with the jersey going to Gibson with Clift second. Watters won the bunch sprint for third at 21s behind.

“Amazing to win #CanRoadChamps crit for @TrekRedTruck ! Fantastic team effort today by TRT and great ride by @jeclift and @cycleryracing,” tweeted Gibson.

Elite/U23 Men's podium (l-r) Dahl 2nd, Perry 1st, Soucy 3rd  ©  Ivan Rupes
As the sun began to set the final race pitted close to 90 Elite/U23 men for their 60-min+3lap race contest. Adam Jamieson (ON) Team RaceClean was the first to test everyone’s legs as others joined with lots of challenges in the early going.

Photo-finish  ©  Ivan Rupes
Remi Pelletier-Roy (QC) Garneau-Québécor and Ryan Roth (ON) Silber Pro Cycling mixed it up as a small group formed at the front with Silber’s Elliott Doyle (QC) and Kristofer Dahl (AB). Perry and Marc-Antoine Soucy (QC) Garneau-Québécor joined as well as the gap kept growing.

Perry wins Elite Men's Crit  ©  Ivan Rupes
Danick Vandale (MB) H&R Block Pro Cycling was with the leaders and tried to escape but was shut down. Behind the pack had dwindled to 30+ riders with Silber controlling. The final push saw Perry attack and defend his title with his teammate Dahl second and Soucy third.


Junior Women – 30min +3 laps
1. Maggie Coles-Lyster (BC) TaG Race Team    39:11
2. Simone Boilard (QC) Équipe du Québec
3. Erin J Attwell (BC) Cycling BC    0:12

Full results here.

Junior Men – 45min +3 laps
1. Kurt Penno (MB) Accent Inns/Russ Hays p/b Champion 52:28
2. Tristan Guillemette (QC) Équipe du Québec
3. Charles-Étienne Chrétien (QC) IAMGOLD

Full results here.

Elite/U23 Women – 60min + 3 Laps
1. Kinley Gibson (AB) Trek Red Truck p/b Mosaic Home    1:07:17
2. Justine Clift (BC) The Cyclery-Opus
3. Ellen Watters (NB) The Cyclery-Opus       0:21

Full results here.

Elite/U23 Men – 60min + 3 Laps
1. Benjamin Perry (ON) Silber Pro Cycling    1:06:54
2. Kristofer Dahl (AB) Silber Pro Cycling
3. Marc-Antoine Soucy (QC) Garneau-Quebecor

Full results here.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.