Featured Stories

2014 UCI Para-Cycling Road World Cup Finals – Canada Takes 3 Podiums on Final Day

release by Cycling Canada

July 29, 2014 (Cantimpalos, Segovia, ESP) – Three Canadians – Shelley Gautier of Toronto, ON, Marie-Ève Croteau of Québec, QC and Jaye Milley of Calgary, AB – won medals in the road races at the 2014 UCI Para-Cycling Road World Cup Final in Spain.

Gautier completed her World Cup season undefeated in the T1 class, having won all her races. Today, she dominated the field by lapping all of her competitors, and finished the course after an hour of racing. Gautier, the reigning World Champion, will defend both of her rainbow jerseys in South Carolina next month.

Marie-Ève Croteau, racing in the T2 class, took the second rank of this last race of the World Cup season, finishing behind Carol Cooke of Australia. She also finished second to Cooke in the time trial race on Friday. This season Croteau started on a positive note, winning both races in her comeback from more than a year of rehabilitation after suffering from a devastating crash prior to the Paralympic Games in London.

Both Gautier and Croteau ended the 2014 UCI World Cup season with the White Jersey, awarded to the World Cup Champion.

In the men C1 class, Jaye Milley bounced back on Sunday to win the bronze medal in the road race after finishing in eight place of the time trial. Milley took off with two German riders and finished third after an intense sprint for the second place, finishing just four seconds behind the winner.

Milley’s teammate Wilson Ross of Sherwood Park, AB finished in fourth place of the same race, his first mass-start road race at the World Cup level. Wilson snagged the bronze medal on Friday in the time trials, his first ever World Cup race.

The next major event for the Canadian para-cycling team will be the UCI World Championships, scheduled to take place Aug 28-Sept 1 in Greenville, South Carolina. Canada will field a large team for the event on North American soil.


Women – T1
1. Shelley Gautier, (Canada) 1:00:05
2. Svetlana Perova, (Russia) -1 Lap
3. Simona Matickova, (Slovakia) -1 Lap

Women – T2
1. Carol Cooke, (Australia) 47:00
2. Marie-Ève Croteau, (Canada) 3:47
3. Madre Carinus, (South Africa) 13:47

Men – C1
1. Pierre Senska, (Germany) 1:40:46
2. Michael Teuber, (Germany) 0:04
3. Jaye Milley, (Canada)

4. Wilson Ross (Canada) 5:39

Women C4
1. Susan Powell, (Australia) 1:50:51
2. Shawn Morelli, (Usa)
3. Hannah Macdougall, (Australia)

4. Marie-Claude Molnar, (Canada) 11:00

Women C5
1. Anna Harkowska, (Poland) 1:47:06
2. Samantha Heinrich, (Usa) 3:45
3. Kerstin Brachtendorf, (Germany) 03:45

6. Nicole Clermont, (Canada) 10:52

Men C3
1. Fabio Anobile, (Italy) 1:42:46
2. Steffen Warias, (Germany)
3. Diedrick Schelfhout, (Belgium)

18. Michael Sametz, (Canada) 0:19

Team Relay
1. ITA (Alessandro Zanardi; Vittorio Podesta; Luca Mazzone) 19:27
2. USA (William; William Lachenauer; Matthew Updike) 19:49
3. BEL (Jonas Van De Steene; Christophe Hindricq; Jean-François Deberg) 20:03

6. CAN (Mark Beggs; Charles Moreau; Robert Labbe) 20:36

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.