Featured Stories

2010 Giro d’Italia – Presentation Photos

by pedalmag.com

May 7, 2010 (Netherlands) – The Giro d’Italia begins on Saturday, May 8 outside of Italy for the first time in the event’s 45-year history with an ITT in Amsterdam. The Grand Tour continues in the Netherlands for three stages before transferring to Savigliano, Italy for Stage 4 after the first rest day.

Many top riders such as Mark Cavendish (Gbr) HTC-Columbia, Fabian Cancellara (Sui) Saxo Bank, and Lance Armstrong (USA) RadioShack have opted to compete at the Tour of California which begins May 16. The lone Canadians on the start line at the Giro are Michael Barry (Team Sky) and Svein Tuft (Garmin-Transitions). Barry has raced at the Giro before but this will be Tuft’s first Grand Tour, and with three time trials, there will be several opportunities for the former ITT worlds silver medalist to test his form.

The 21-stage Giro runs from May 8-30 and covers 3,416km including three ITTs, one TTT, and six mountain stages before ending up in Verona, Italy.

2010 Giro d’Italia

Stage 1 – Saturday, May 8 – Amsterdam ITT – 8.4km
Stage 2 – Sunday, May 9 – Amsterdam-Utrecht – 209km
Stage 3 – Monday, May 10 – Amsterdam-Middelburg – 209km
Rest Day – Tuesday, May 11 – Savigliano
Stage 4 – Wednesday, May 12 – Savigliano-Cuneo TTT – 32.5km
Stage 5 – Thursday, May 13 – Novara-Novi Ligure – 168km
Stage 6- Friday, May 14 – Fidenza-Marina di Carrara – 166km
Stage 7 – Saturday, May 15 – Carrara-Montalcino – 215km
Stage 8 – Sunday, May 16 – Chianciano-Monte Terminillo – 189km
Stage 9 – Monday, May 17 – Frosinone-Cava de’ Tirreni – 188km
Stage 10 – Tuesday, May 18 – Avellino – Bitonto – 220km
Stage 11 – Wednesday, May 19 – Lucera – L’Aquila – 256km
Stage 12 – Thursday, May 20 – Città Sant’Angelo-Porto Recanti – 191km
Stage 13 – Friday, May 21 – Porto Recanti – Cesenatico – 222km
Stage 14 – Saturday, May 22 – Ferrara-Asolo (Monte Grappa) – 201km
Stage 15 – Sunday, May 23 – Mestre-Zoncolan – 218km
Rest Day – Monday, May 24 – Friuli
Stage 16 – Tuesday, May 25 – San Vigilio di Marebbe-Plan de Corones ITT – 12.9km
Stage 17 – Wednesday, May 26 – Brunico-Pejo Terme – 173km
Stage 18 – Thursday, May 27 – Levico Terme – Brescia – 151km
Stage 19 – Friday, May 28 – Brescia-Aprica – 195km
Stage 20 – Saturday, May 29 – Bormio-Passa del Tonale – 178km
Stage 21 – Sunday, May 30 – Verona ITT – 15.3km





Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.