Featured Stories

2009 Team Columbia Preliminary Roster Announced – Barry and Wrubleski on Board

September 12, 2008 (San Luis Obispo, CA) – Team Columbia, owned and managed by High Road Sports Inc., is pleased to announce its preliminary roster for the 2009 season. To date in 2008 the team has won 133 races between the men and the women’s teams, with 77 wins for the men and 56 wins for the women.

“After such a successful season, we don’t want to make a lot of changes within the team,” says Team Manager Rolf Aldag. “Our riders showed a lot of courage and motivation throughout the season and we saw the team grow closer together as the season went on. We want to stay focused on developing young talented athletes under the direction of experienced veterans, with the ambition of having just as much success as we have achieved in 2008.”

As of mid September, the men’s team numbers 25 and includes:

Michael Barry, Marcus Burghart, Mark Cavendish, John Devine, Bernhard Eisel, Linus Gerdemann, Bert Grabsch, Andre Greipel, Edvald Boasson Hagen, Adam Hansen, Greg Henderson, George Hincapie, Kim Kirchen, Craig Lewis, Thomas Lovkvist, Tony Martin, Marco Pinotti, Morris Possoni, Frantisek Rabon, Vicente Reynes, Michael Rogers, Marcel Sieberg, Kanstantsin Sivtsov, Mark Renshaw and Michael Albasini.

The women’s team, currently ranked number one in the world and leading the women’s UCi World Cup Series will also make very few changes. The ten riders currently confirmed for 2009 are Mara Abbott, Kim Anderson, Judith Arndt, Kate Bates, Chantal Beltman, Emilia Fahlin, Luise Keller, Ina-yoko Teutenberg, Linda Villumsen and Alex Wrubleski.

“The team is not final and we will see a few slight changes over the next month, but we are very happy with the line up so far and we are already looking forward to 2009,” added Aldag.

For more information about Team Columbia visit www.highroadsports.com.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.