Featured Stories

2009 Canadian BMX Worlds Team Announced

release by the CCA

June 30, 2009 – The Canadian Cycling Association announced on Tuesday a ten-member team for the 2009 BMX World Championships July 24-26, 2009 in Adelaide, Australia. The team will be lead by Olympians and Elite National Champions Sam Cools of Airdrie Alberta, and Scott Erwood of Surry B.C. The Junior Team will be Lead by National Champion Tory Nyhaug of Coquitlam, B.C. Canadian Team For 2009 BMX World Championships Adelaide AUS,

Elite Men
– Scott Erwood, Surry B.C.
– Jim Brown, Airdrie AB
– Patrick Lebel, Calgary AB

Elite Women
– Sam Cools, Airdrie AB
– Danielle Brisson, Abbotsford, B.C.

Junior Men
– Tory Nyhaug, Coquitlam B.C.
– Steven Creighton, BC
– Nick Benetti BC

Junior Women
– Abby Graalman, Red Deer AB
– Amelia Walsh, Ayr ON

The Team will begin their build up to worlds with a Camp in Abbotsford BC from the 12th to 14th of July the team will then travel to Australia and begin their worlds preparations in Australia.

The CCA will be contributing funds to this project which will help with the funding for both the elites and the juniors. The funding from the CCA will allow the elites to be fully funded and for the juniors to be partially funded.

If you would like to make a donation to help support the Junior World Track Team and alleviate some of the financial stress, please fill out a donation form that can be found at http://www.canadian-cycling.com/cca/donations/cash_donations.shtml and e-mail it to Nicholas Vipond at BMX@canadian-cycling.com . All proceeds will go directly towards covering the athlete’s expenses.

2197 prom Riverside Drive, Suite 203 – Ottawa, ON – K1H 7X3 – tel. (613) 248-1353 – fax (613) 248-9311 — general@canadian-cycling.com; www.canadiancycling.com

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.