Featured Stories

2008 UCI Track Worlds – Day 1 Report, Full Results and Photos

March 26, 2008 (Manchester, UK) – Bradley Wiggins (Great Britain) pulled out all the stops on the fast, newly resurfaced track at the Manchester Velodrome to claim the men’s Individual Pursuit title in 4.18.52 before a home crowd over Jenning Huizenga (Ned) in second with Alexei Markov (Russian Federation) in third and Hayden Roulston (New Zealand) finishing 4th.

Meanwhile the USA’s Taylor Phinney from Boulder, Colo. produced his personal best time in the men’s individual pursuit with a time of 4:22.358 placed him eighth in his first-ever UCI Track World Championships.

In the men’s Scratch race won by Aliaksandr Lisouski (Belarus) Canada’s Martin Gilbert who was 5th recently at the Scratch race at the Track World Cup in Copenhagen, Denmark, was forced to abandon when he crashed with five laps remaining in the race. Although well-placed in the competition Gilbert’s front wheel was hit by another rider. “It’s a pity when you’re forced to stop. I was in good position and felt fresh and was ready to sprint,” the 25-year-old Gilbert told Sportcom. “The Scratch race is not as important as the Madison this Saturday where I’ll ride with Ryan McKenzie from Calgary. We are focusing on doing well.”

Lisandra Guerra Rodriguez (Cuba) won the Women’s 500m Time Trial over Simona Krupeckaite (Lithuania) in second with France’s Sandie Clair in third.

In the men’s Team Sprint it was France taking the gold over Great Britain with the Netherlands in third, just as they qualified earlier in the day.


Men’s Individual Pursuit


1. Jenning Huizenga (Netherlands) 4.16.34
2. Bradley Wiggins (Great Britain) 4.17.02
3. Alexei Markov (Russian Federation) 4.18.24
4. Hayden Roulston (New Zealand) 4.18.33
5. Bradley McGee (Australia) 4.20.43
6. David O’Loughlin (Ireland) 4.20.91
7. Luke Roberts (Australia) 4.21.89
8. Taylor Phinney (United States Of America) 4.22.36
9. Antonio Tauler Llull (Spain) 4.22.65
10. Volodymyr Dyudya (Ukraine) 4.22.73
11. Alexander Serov (Russian Federation) 4.22.74
12. Dominique Cornu (Belgium) 4.22.79
13. Sergi Escobar Roure (Spain) 4.24.13
14. Jens Mouris (Netherlands) 4.24.48
15. Marc Ryan (New Zealand) 4.24.78
16. Robert Bartko (Germany) 4.25.14
17. Phillip Thuaux (Australia) 4.26.43
18. Vitaliy Popkov (Ukraine) 4.27.04
19. Sun Jae Jang (Korea) 4.28.40
20. Carlos Eduardo Alzate Escobar (Colombia) 4.29.94
21. Jairo Perez Suarez (Colombia) 4.33.50
22. Dominique Stark (Switzerland) 4.36.39


For Gold

1. Bradley Wiggins (Great Britain) 4.18.52 (55.701 km/h)
2. Jenning Huizenga (Netherlands) 4.23.47

For Bronze

3. Alexei Markov (Russian Federation) 4.21.10
4. Hayden Roulston (New Zealand) 4.23.66

Women’s 500m Time Trial

1. Lisandra Guerra Rodriguez (Cuba) 0.34.02 (52.908 km/h)
2. Simona Krupeckaite (Lithuania) 0.34.07
3. Sandie Clair (France) 0.34.25
4. Willy Kanis (Netherlands) 0.34.25
5. Jinjie Gong (People’s Republic of China) 0.34.45
6. Miriam Welte (Germany) 0.34.67
7. Shanaze Reade (Great Britain) 0.34.70
8. Natallia Tsylinskaya (Belarus) 0.34.72
9. Anna Blyth (Great Britain) 0.34.79
10. Yvonne Hijgenaar (Netherlands) 0.34.90
11. Lulu Zheng (People’s Republic of China) 0.34.99
12. Kaarle Mcculloch (Australia) 0.35.03
13. Lyubov Shulika (Ukraine) 0.35.27
14. Diana Maria Garcia Orrego (Colombia) 0.35.50
15. Virginie Cueff (France) 0.35.52
16. Jutatip Maneephan (Thailand) 0.37.54

Men’s Scratch Race

1. Aliaksandr Lisouski (Belarus)
2. Wim Stroetinga (Netherlands)
3. Roger Kluge (Germany)
4. Rafal Ratajczyk (Poland)
5. Angel Dario Colla (Argentina)
6. Kazuhiro Mori (Japan)
7. Andreas Mueller (Austria)
8. Juan Pablo Forero Carreno (Colombia)
9. Hayden Godfrey (New Zealand)
10. Luis Mansilla (Chile)
11. Martin Blaha (Czech Republic)
12. Daniel Kreutzfeldt (Denmark)
13. Jérôme Neuville (France)
14. Tim Mertens (Belgium)
15. Ho Ting Kwok (Hong Kong, China)
16. Vadim Shaekhov (Uzbekistan)
17. Martino Marcotto (Italy)
18. Michael Friedman (United States Of America)
19. Ivan Kovalev (Russian Federation)
20. Leigh Howard (Australia)
DNF Martin Gilbert (Canada)
DNF Steven Burke (Great Britain)
DNF Hariff Salleh (Malaysia)
DNF Oleksandr Martynenko (Ukraine)

Men’s Team Sprint


1. France 0.43.51 (62.048 km/h)
Gregory Bauge (France)
Mickaël Bourgain (France)
Kévin Sireau (France)

2. Great Britain 0.43.91
Ross Edgar (Great Britain)
Chris Hoy (Great Britain)
Jamie Staff (Great Britain)

3. Netherlands 0.43.96
Theo Bos (Netherlands)
Teun Mulder (Netherlands)
Tim Veldt (Netherlands)

4. Germany 0.44.26
Rene Enders (Germany)
Maximilian Levy (Germany)
Stefan Nimke (Germany)

5. Australia 0.44.62
Daniel Ellis (Australia)
Mark French (Australia)
Ben Kersten (Australia)

6. Russian Federation 0.44.90
Sergey Borisov (Russian Federation)
Sergey Kucherov (Russian Federation)
Sergey Ruban (Russian Federation)

7. People’s Republic of China 0.45.00
Yong Feng (People’s Republic of China)
Wen Hao Li (People’s Republic of China)
Lei Zhang (People’s Republic of China)

8. Japan 0.45.03
Tsubasa Kitatsuru (Japan)
Kiyofumi Nagai (Japan)
Kazunari Watanabe (Japan)

9. Ukraine 0.45.06
Yevhen Bolibrukh (Ukraine)
Yuriy Tsyupyk (Ukraine)
Andriy Vynokurov (Ukraine)

10. United States Of America 0.45.13
Michael Blatchford (United States Of America)
Adam Duvendeck (United States Of America)
Giddeon Massie (United States Of America)

11. Poland 0.45.16
Maciej Bielecki (Poland)
Kamil Kuczynski (Poland)
Lukasz Kwiatkowski (Poland)

12. Spain 0.45.28
Alvaro Alonso Rubio (Spain)
Hodei Mazquiaran Uria (Spain)
Salvador Melia Mangrinan (Spain)

13. Czech Republic 0.45.68
Tomas Babek (Czech Republic)
Filip Ptacnik (Czech Republic)
Denis Spicka (Czech Republic)

14. Greece 0.45.70
Athanasios Mantzouranis (Greece)
Christos Volikakis (Greece)
Panagiotis Voukelatos (Greece)

15. Malaysia 0.45.71
Azizulhasni Awang (Malaysia)
Muhammad Edrus Md Yunos (Malaysia)
Josiah Ng Onn Lam (Malaysia)


1. France 0.43.27 (62.397 km/h)
Gregory Bauge (France)
Kévin Sireau (France)
Arnaud Tournant (France)
2. Great Britain 0.43.78
Ross Edgar (Great Britain)
Chris Hoy (Great Britain)
Jamie Staff (Great Britain)
3. Netherlands 0.43.72
Theo Bos (Netherlands)
Teun Mulder (Netherlands)
Tim Veldt (Netherlands)
4. Germany 0.44.28
Rene Enders (Germany)
Maximilian Levy (Germany)
Stefan Nimke (Germany)
5. Australia
6. Russia
7. China
8. Japan
9. Ukraine
10. United States
11. Poland
12. Spain
13. Czech Republic
14. Greece
15. Malaysia


Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.