Featured Stories

2007 Team Coastal Cross Results

September 17, 2007 – The Delta Watershed was again host to 3rd Annual Team Coastal Cross, which saw 90 plus Lycra clad knobby tire equipped racers line up for some friendly competition.

The trails were dry and contributed to some very fast Cross action for all the categories. The event began with the Women’s A category that was dominated and won by Jean Ann McKirdy of Local Ride over 2nd placed Kelly Jones of Sugoi/Cannondale and 3rd placed Nicola Mann of TiCycles/Avanti Racing. The Women’s B race was lead by a very hard charging Lesley Trivett of Team Wedgewood, whom eventually won the race over her 2nd placed team-mate Shera Clement and Escape Velocity’s Heather Gerth. While in the Men’s C race, Jason Brooks won against a very feisty field of 20 racers.

The biggest two and most competitive groups of the day were the Men’s B and Masters Men 35+, which combined had 45 racers. Nick Berry of Mighty Riders was triumphant overall in the Men’s B group and Andrew Brown from the Comox Valley Cycling Club fended off all the 35+ crossers to take the Masters Men category.

The final race of the day was the Men’s A group, which saw the lead of the race exchange hands a few times throughout the race. Eventually, it was Thomas Skinner of Louis Garneau, who took control of the race towards the end, to win the Men’s A event over Kevin Calhoun of Rocky Mountain and Brad Issel.

One of the most exciting moments for the organizers, was the additional attendance of 20 boys and girls for the inaugural inclusion of free kids races. A total 16 kids ranging in age from 2_ to 10 years took to the line the five minute 10 and under race around the Delta Watershed meadow. Fun was had by all with all competitors completing at least 2 whole laps. The entire 11 to 15 year old group determined that the meadow course was too easy, so they decided to follow the C group for a taste of the full Cross course, with some completing 4 laps on heavy mountain bikes. It was very fulfilling for Team Coastal to see potential future racers enthusiastic to experience the sport and show an interest towards becoming a competitive cyclist.

Thanks goes out to all the attending racers, volunteers and sponsors:

– South Shore Cycles
– Riley Law
– New Balance
– eLoad
– Picci
– Velocity
– Giordana


Men’s A
1. Thomas Skinner Louis Garneau
2. Kevin Calhoun Rocky Mountain
3. Brad Issel Independant
4. Rob Gosselin Mighty Riders
5. Carsten Ivany Natural Earth
6. Ian Bickis OBC
7. Dan Schmidt Glotman Simpson
8. Mike Judge Steed Cycles
9. Scott McGregor Steed Cycles
10. Joe Wessel Cobra/KC
11. Stephen Cork Escape Velocity

Women’s A
1. Jean Ann McKirdy Local Ride
2. Kelly Jones Sugoi/Cannondale
3. Nicola Mann TiCycles/Avanti Racing
4. Karen Watson Integrale
dnf Marie-Claude Gagnon Integrale

Men’s B
1. Nick Berry Mighty Riders
2. Chris Sayers Kelowna Cycle
3. Derek Shrers TiCycles
4. Clayton Sansbury Masi-Adobe
5. Matt Drown Wedgewood
6. Colin Campbell Escape Velocity
7. Sean Howie Independant
8. Ben Jackson Escape Velocity
9. Jason Leber Steed Cycles
10. Matt Law Peninsula Cycles/Sorce
11. Josh Wiess Independant
12. Jeff Harrimen Independant
13. Dale Ewanchook Floraglo
14. Joe Wessel Cobra/KC
15. Axel Bergman Escape Velocity
16. Owen Scott Steed Cycles
17. Duncan Steel Escape Velocity
18. Micheal Ohont Different Bikes
19. Ryan Cousineau Escape Velocity
20. JP Baron Front Runners
DNF Chisou Kantakis Escape Velocity
DNF Gord Ross Escape Velocity
DNF Graham Tutti Independant

Women’s B
1. Lesley Trivett Wedgewood
2. Shera Clement Wedgewood
3. Heather Gerth Escape Velocity
4. Hiedi Hughel Chicks
5. Corrine Issel Red Truck
6. Jeanine Ball Local Ride
7. Stania Jeriga Chicks
8. Sue Weston Natural Earth
9. Judy Garren Muddbunnies

Men’s C
1. Jason Brooks Independant
2. Joel Lemaire Mighty Riders
3. Brian Postlethwaite Escape Velocity
4. Hank Jien Independant
5. Sam Harrap Independant
6. Mac McDell Wedgewood
7. Devan McClelland Team Coastal
8. Michael Sileika Wedgewood
9. Steven Herbert Escape Velocity
10. Scott Peters Wedgewood
11. Bill Riley Integrale
12. Jan Kirseborn Independant
13. Craig Fabische Overtime Sports Coquitlam
14. Brendan Narowsky Independant
15. Jonathan Aiken Wedgewood
16. Stephan Delisle Escape Velocity
17. Brice Evans Independant
18. Geoff Wherret Independant
19. Martin Harley Independant
20. Vince Lee Wedgewood

Masters Men 35+
1. Andrew Brown Comox Valley Cycling Club
2. Trevor Hopkins Team Whistler
3. Brent Hambleton Independant
4. Bob Chew Escape Velocity
5. Brad Collins BSP
6. Tyler Dumont Norco/Floraglo
7. Dave Nowak Comox Valley Cycling Club
8. Roy McBeth Local Ride
9. Graham Garrison Natural Earth Racing
10. Jay Murray Trek Red Truck
11. Bart Nakano Norco/Floraglo
12. Dave Cressman Wedgewood
13. Mike Koski Mighty Riders
14. Rob Bitz Local Ride
15. Anthony Rutter Bicycle Centres/Collision
16. Kalle Karu Independant
17. Byron Davis Pedalhead Racing
18. Paul Craig Natural Earth Racing
19. Jay Lodger Mighty Riders
20. Andy George Fast Twitch
21. Kenny James Escape Velocity
DNF Graeme Falkowsky Independant

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.