Featured Stories

2006 USPRO Criterium Championships

August 20, 2006 – The City of Downers Grove (Illinois) once again held the USPRO Criterium Championship, and Navigators Insurance’s Hilton Clarke took the top honors earlier today. Although unable to claim the USPRO Championship Jersey, as he is an Australian citizen, he came to line after racing 100 kms with more than a bike length over Brad Huff (TIAA-CREF). In its 20th year, the championship festival with two days of racing is a mainstay of the American racing calendar, in addition to being one of the most popular criteriums in North America.

The 1-mi., figure-8 circuit is well known for its speed and the resulting field sprint. Rarely has a breakaway remained in front, and the 2006 edition was no different. The horsepower, combined with speed and the high level of motivation for all of the American riders, saw to it that no attempts for anything other than a field sprint would be the order of the day.

With one lap remaining, it was Navigators blue on the front of the speeding peloton, and out of the final corner it was “Turbo” Clarke kicking it in for the final burst to the line. Huff, as the first American, takes the coveted Stars-And-Stripes Jersey, as the new USPRO Criterium Champion.

In the women’s race Theresa Cliff-Ryan (USA) Verducci Breakaway took the win over Laura Van Gilder (USA) Team Lipton.



1 Hilton Clake (Aus) Navigators Insurance Cycling Team 2.15.33
2 Brad Huff (USA) Team TIAA-CREF
3 Tony Cruz (USA) Toyota-United Pro Cycling Team
4 Dan Schmatz (USA) Kodakgallery.Com/ Sierra Nevada Pro Cycling
5 Emile Abraham (Tri) AEG-Toshiba-Jetnetwork Pro Cycling Team
6 Jeffery Hopkins (Aus) Jittery Joe’s – Zero Gravity Pro Cycling Team
7 Alex Candelario (USA) Jelly Belly Cyling Team
8 Davide Frattini (Ita) Colavita Olive Oil-Sutter Home Winery C.T.
9 Frank Pipp (USA) Targetraining Cycling Team
10 Mark McCormack (USA) Colavita Olive Oil-Sutter Home Winery C.T.

11 Zach Bell (Can) Rite Aid Pro Cycling
42 Martin Gilbert (Can) Kodakgallery.Com/ Sierra Nevada Pro Cycling
44 Mark Walters (Can) Navigators Insurance Cycling Team
58 Dominique Perras (Can) Kodakgallery.Com/ Sierra Nevada Pro Cycling
61 Dustin Macburnie (Can) Targetraining Cycling Team
65 Gordon Fraser (Can) Health Net p/b Maxxis


1 Theresa Cliff-Ryan (USA) Verducci Breakaway 1.16.40
2 Laura Van Gilder (USA) Team Lipton
3 Mackenzie Dickey (USA) Aaron’s Corp Furn
4 Shontell Gauthier (USA) Team Joy
5 Brenda Lyons (USA) Victory Brewing
6 Anna Webb (USA) Karl Strauss/SDBC
7 Candice Blickem (USA) Aaron’s Corp Furn
8 Rebecca Larson (USA) Aaron’s Corp Furn
9 Kelly Benjamin (USA) Cheerwine
10 Kacey Manderfield (USA) Wolverine/Redken

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.