Featured Stories

2006 UCI MTB World Cup XCM #3 – Südtirol Dolomiti Superbike

July 9, 2006 (Villabassa, South Tyrol/Italy) – Hector Leonardo Paez (COL, Full Dynamix) hammered out the fastest time today at the 119.9-kilometre UCI World Cup MTB Marathon #3 in Villabassa, Italy. He crossed the finish line first after spending nearly five hours on the bike and covering 3,822 vertical metres of climbing. Yader Zoli (ITA, KTM International) and Mirko Pirazzoli (ITA, Salieri Arredoquattro) sorted out second and third spots in a sprint finish. The sole Canadian entrant, Matthew Bodkin (CAN, Giant Bicycles Canada), finished 77th.

In the women’s race, Switzerland’s Esther Süss (SUI, Ghost) won, covering the epic distance in a time of 5:47.17. Fellow countrywoman Daniela Louis (SUI, Stöckli-Craft) was second, followed by Finland’s Pia Sundstedt (FIN, Rocky Mountain-Business Objects) in third place. Canada’s Marg Fedyna (CAN, ERTC-Redbike), who finished sixth in World Cup Marathon #2 in Mont Ste-Anne, Que. last month, placed ninth today. Fellow Canuck, Lesley Clements (CAN, Marin Bikes), was 17th.


1. Hector Leonardo Paez Leon (Col) Team Full Dynamix 4:52:37
2. Yader Zoli (Ita) KTM International Team 6:25
3. Mirko Pirazzoli (Ita) Team Salieri Arredoquattro 6:27
4. Bart Brentjens (Ned) Giant Racing Team 7:18
5. Thomas Dietsch (Fra) Bianchi Agos 7:53
6. Marzio Deho (Ita) GS Cicli Olympia 9:02
7. Roland Stauder (Ita) Corratec World Team 9:05
8. Hannes Genze (Ger) Team Alb-Gold Mountainbike 11:34
9. Julio Humberto Caro Silva (Col) Team Full Dynamix 12:02
10. Dario Acquaroli (Ita) Team Full Dynamix 13:36

77. Matthew Bodkin (Can) Giant Bicycles Canada 1:36:55


1. Esther Suss (Sui) Ghost International Racing 5:47:17
2. Daniela Louis (Sui) Team Stoeckli-Craft 4:02
3. Pia Sundstedt (Ita) Gamlakarleby 6:53
4. Elena Giacomuzzi (Ita) Dragon Bike Strigno 13:03
5. Renata Bucher (Sui) Racing Team Stuckli 18:42
6. Roberta Gasparini (Ita) Colnago Silmax AMD 20:55
7. Andrea Kuster (Sui) TG Huetten Price 22:49
8. Elena Gaddoni (Ita) Team Salieri Arredoquattro 36:40
9. Marg Fedyna (Can) ERTC/Redbike 36:50
10. Barbora Radova (Ita) CZ 39:32

17. Lesley Clements (Can) Marin Bikes 1:32:10

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.