Featured Stories

2006 Track Worlds – Team Sprint

April 13, 2006 – Canada’s team sprint team qualified 12th in the Team Sprint event Thursday evening posting a time of 46.409 seconds. The team of Yannik Morin (QC), Travis Smith (AB) and Cam Mackinnon (AB)posted their second best time of the season, after setting a new Canadian record at the Commonwealth Games in Melbourne last month.

“We wanted to do a little better, especially after what we did in Melbourne. But we can’t be disappointed with our time – it’s our second best time of the season. I’m happy that we were able to make little improvements throughout the race” said Smith.

Mackinnon hoped to go under 46.0 seconds but reflected on these Worlds and the season to date. “Our goal remains to improve at every race and I thought there was a good chance to better our time from Melbourne. I was happy that I was able to set a new personal best individually within the race, though.”

Head Coach Eric Van den Eynde commented on the expectations he had for the team and changes that may loom for the Team Sprint squad. “We need to find a way to be faster off the start. Yannik has done tremendous work this season and has played a large role in helping the team set a new Canadian record. Travis and Cam have already shown they can ride fast and we need someone who can come and ride faster and ultimately make the team stronger. It may be time that we open up a spot for someone new to come if they can prove they can be faster than what we have now.”

Racing continues tomorrow with Travis Smith (AB) racing in the Men’s Keirin, Zach Bell (YK)in the Men’s Individual Pursuit, Gina Grain (BC)in the Women’s Points Race and Cam Mackinnon (AB) and Yannik Morin (QC) in the Men’s Kilo.

Thanks to our Canadian National Team partners Tim Hortons, H&R Block and Louis Garneau for supporting them.

Men’s team sprint Qualifying

1 France 44.194
Grégory Bauge
Mickaël Bourgain
Arnaud Tournant
2 Great Britain 44.407
Chris Hoy
Jason Queally
Jamie Staff
3 Australia 44.591
Ryan Bayley
Shane John Kelly
Shane Perkins
4 Netherlands 44.747
Theo Bos
Teun Mulder
Tim Veldt
5 Germany 45.050
Robert Forstemann
Maximilian Levy
Stefan Nimke
6 Poland 45.269
Lukasz Kwiatkowski
Tomasz Schmidt
Damian Zielinski
7 Spain 45.692
Alvaro Alonso Rubio
Ruben Donet Gregori
Salvador Melia Mangriñan
8 China 45.708
Lin Feng
Yong Feng
Zhang Lei
9 Japan 45.773
Masaki Inoue
Takashi Kaneko
Kazunari Watanabe
10 USA 46.146
Benjamin Barczewski
Giddeon Massie
Christian Stahl
11 Russia 46.152
Denis Dmitriev
Vladimir Kiriltsev
Sergey Borisov
12 Canada 46.409
Cam Mackinnon
Yannik Morin
Travis Smith

13 Ukraine 46.557
Vitaliy Kulachkovskiy
Yuriy Tsyupyk
Andriy Vynokurov
14 Greece 46.742
Athanassios Mantzouranis
Vasileros Reppas
Panagiotis Voukelatos
15 Czech Republic 46.912
Alois Kankovsky
Michal Prokop
Adam Ptacnik
DNS Venezuela

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.