Featured Stories

2006 Track Worlds – Day 4 PM – Final Report and Results

April 16, 2006 (Bordeaux, France) – She may not have a name like Theo Bos, who won the Men’s Sprint title, but Gina Grain of British Columbia showed today that she has more than just one grain of power. She has enough power to be at the top of the world.

Grain captured the silver medal today in the Women’s Scratch Race at the 2006 World Track Championships. It is her first medal and her first podium finish in an international track cycling competition.

The race was fast and packed with action. There were many early attempts at a breakaway but it wasn’t until Grain attacked with eighteen laps to go that the peloton slacked off. Grain managed to build up half-a-lap lead and keep it. Three laps later Maria Luisa Calle William of Colombia attacked and joined Grain and the two of them worked together and finally caught the group with six laps to go. In the final sprint Grain got boxed in and Calle took the win.

Theo Bos of Netherlands, who won the Men’s Sprint event in 2004, showed again why he’s the “Boss” winning the Men’s Sprint title in two straight face-offs against Craig Maclean of Great Britain. In the final sprint, Bos lead from start to finish never letting Maclean anywhere near the front.

In the Women’s Keirin event, Christin Muche of Germany showed that she too was the boss by taking the lead with one lap to go and kept it to win gold. Clara Sanchez of France had to settle for silver, after previously winning the event three consecutive times.

Finally, in the Men’s Madison event Isaac Galvez Lopez and Joan Llaneras Rossello of Spain put in a golden performance dominating the race in their first attempt riding together at the World Championships since 2002. The Spanish team finished five points aead of the Ukraine team. Spain has not been on the podium for the Madison event since 2001. Canada’s team of Zach Bell and Martin Gilbert unfortunately did not finish the event.

Full Results – Day 4

Women’s Keirin

Round 1

Heat 1
1 Clara Sanchez (France) 11.311
2 Natallia Tsylinskaya (Belarus)
3 Anna Meares (Australia)
4 Miriam Welte (Germany)
5 Lizandra Guerra (Cuba)
6 Céline Nivert (France)

Heat 2
1 Shuang Guo (China) 11.679
2 Elisa Frisoni (Italy)
3 Diana Maria Garcia Orrego (Colombia)
4 Simona Krupeckaite (Lithuania)
5 Dana Gloss (Germany)
6 Tamilia Abassova (Russia)

Heat 3
1 Jennie Reed (USA) 12.071
2 Christin Muche (Germany)
3 Victoria Pendleton (Great Britain)
4 Yvonne Hijgenaar (Netherlands)
5 Kerrie Meares (Australia)
REL Mu Di (China)

Round 1 repechage

Heat 1
1 Simona Krupeckaite (Lithuania)
2 Kerrie Meares (Australia)
3 Tamilia Abassova (Russia)
4 Victoria Pendleton (Great Britain)
REL Anna Meares (Australia)
REL Lizandra Guerra (Cuba)

Heat 2
1 Céline Nivert (France) 12.289
2 Mu Di (China)
3 Diana Maria Garcia Orrego (Colombia)
4 Yvonne Hijgenaar (Netherlands)
5 Miriam Welte (Germany)
6 Dana Gloss (Germany)

Round 2

Heat 1
1 Clara Sanchez (France) 11.733
2 Christin Muche (Germany)
3 Mu Di (China)
4 Céline Nivert (France)
5 Simona Krupeckaite (Lithuania)
6 Elisa Frisoni (Italy)

Heat 2
1 Shuang Guo (China) 12.247
2 Jennie Reed (USA)
3 Natallia Tsylinskaya (Belarus)
3 Diana Maria Garcia Orrego (Colombia)
5 Tamilia Abassova (Russia)
6 Kerrie Meares (Australia)


1 Christin Muche (Germany)
2 Clara Sanchez (France)
3 Shuang Guo (China)
4 Jennie Reed (USA)
DNF Diana Maria Garcia Orrego (Colombia)
DSQ Mu Di (China)
7 Natallia Tsylinskaya (Belarus)
8 Elisa Frisoni (Italy)
9 Tamilia Abassova (Russia)
10 Kerrie Meares (Australia)
11 Simona Krupeckaite (Lithuania)
12 Céline Nivert (France)

Women’s scratch
1 Maria Luisa Calle Williams (Colombia)
2 Gina Grain (Canada)

1 lap behind

3 Olga Slyusareva (Russia)
4 Rebecca Quinn (USA)
5 Elke Gebhardt (Germany)
6 Annalisa Cucinotta (Italy)
7 Lada Kozlikova (Czech Republic)
8 Adrie Visser (Netherlands)
9 Joanne Kiesanowski (New Zealand)
10 Katherine Bates (Australia)
11 Gema Pascual Torrecilla (Spain)
12 Pascale Schnider (Switzerland)
13 Maria Tzoumanika (Greece)
14 Karen Verbeek (Belgium)
15 Katarzyna Jagusiak (Poland)
16 Nikki Harris (Great Britain)
17 Iona Wynter Parks (Jamaica)
18 Elodie Henriette (France)
19 Yoanka Gonzalez (Cuba)
20 Lyudmyla Vypyraylo (Ukraine)

Men’s sprint


Heat 1
1 Theo Bos (Netherlands) 10.801 10.376
2 Stefan Nimke (Germany)

Heat 2
1 Craig Maclean (Great Britain) 10.465 10.785
2 Mickaël Bourgain (France) 10.464


1 Theo Bos (Netherlands) 10.374 10.510
2 Craig Maclean (Great Britain)
3 Stefan Nimke (Germany) 10.576 10.683
4 Mickaël Bourgain (France)

Men’s Madison

1 Spain 16 pts
Isaac Galvez Lopez
Joan Llaneras Rossello

2 Ukraine 11
Lyubomyr Polatayko
Volodymyr Rybin

3 Argentina 9
Juan Esteban Curuchet
Walter Perez

4 Great Britain 6
Mark Cavendish
Robert Hayles

1 lap behind

5 Switzerland 15
Alexander Aeschbach
Franco Marvulli

6 Belgium 9
Matthew Gilmore
Iljo Keisse

7 Netherlands 6
Robert Slippens
Danny Stam

8 Russia 5
Mikhail Ignatiev
Nikolai Trussov

9 Australia 5
Simon Clarke
Sean Finning

2 laps behind

10 France 11
Mathieu Ladagnous
Jérôme Neuville

11 United States 5
Michael Friedman
Charles Bradley Huff

12 Slovakia 4
Martin Liska
Jozef Zabka

13 Italy
Fabio Masotti
Marco Villa

14 Czech Republic
Martin Blaha
Petr Lazar

DNF Denmark
Michael Mørkøv
Alex Rasmussen

DNF Germany
Guido Fulst
Leif Lampater

DNF New Zealand
Hayden Godfrey
Timothy Gudsell

DNF Canada
Zach Bell
Martin Gilbert

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.