Featured Stories

2006 Tim Hortons DH Nationals – Preview

July 23, 2006 (Whistler, B.C.) – Canada’s top downhill riders take to the slopes of the Whistler Bike Park today as they strive to be this year’s National DH Champions. The first Championship categories to go are the Junior Men and Women and Elite Men and Women at 12:15 p.m. (PDT), followed by the Master Expert Categories from 1:45 p.m. to 5:00 p.m. (PDT). The weather will continue to be hot, which means riders will be roasting in their protective gear and full-face helmets.

Last year’s champions Elite Men’s and Women’s champions, Adrienne Miller (BC, Devinci-Daredevil) and Tyler Morland (BC, Team Cove Bikes) will go for repeat performances, but there is tough competition on both sides.

For the women, Danika Schroeter (BC, Team Cove Bikes), Claire Buchar (BC, Specialized-Rock Shox), Brook Baker (BC, Giro-Beastgear-Sombrio) and Katrina Strand (BC, Scott-Marzocchi) all spent some time in Europe in the early season getting World Cup experience. Michelle Dumaresq (BC, Santa Cruz-NSMB.COM) is also on the start list. Several men were on the same program, including Morland himself and his speedy teammate Andrew Mitchell (BC, Team Cove Bikes), who qualified first yesterday in the seeding runs. Miller qualified first for the women, which should give her a big boost of confidence.

With only two Junior Women on the start list, Micayla Gatto (BC, Rocky Mountain-Business Objects), who placed third at last year’s DH Worlds, is the definite favourite. She won yesterday’s seeding run, with Brittany Wood (BC, BC Team) placing second.

In the Junior Men’s competition, Steve Smith (BC, Team Cove Bikes) is poised to race last in today’s final, as he finished first in the qualifier yesterday. The field is 15-strong, which should make for an interesting competition.

Seeding Run Results

Elite Men

1. Andrew Mitchell (BC, Team Cove Bikes) 3:07.112
2. Jeff Beatty (BC, NRG-Orange) 3:07.795
3. Luke Kitzanuk (QC, Giant) 3:11.540
4. Tyler Morland (BC, Team Cove Bikes) 3:13.403
5. Connor MacLeod (BC, Team Cove Bikes) 3:16.673

Elite Women

1. Adrienne Miller (BC, Devinci-Daredevil) 3:42.250
2. Michelle Dumaresq (BC, Santa Cruz-NSMB.COM) 3:50.130
3. Danika Schroeter (BC, Team Cove Bikes) 3:50.799
4. Claire Buchar (BC, Specialized-Rock Shox) 4:00.660
5. Katrina Strand (BC, Scott-Marzocchi) 4:03.442

Junior Men

1. Steve Smith (BC, Team Cove Bikes) 3:20.330
2. Dean Tennant (BC, BC Team) 3:22.537
3. Adam McConaghy (BC, BC Team) 3:26.443
4. Dan Csonkonay (BC, Norco) 3:30.638
5. Geoff Briggs (AB, Calgary Cycle) 3:34.797

Junior Women

1. Micayla Gatto (BC, Rocky Mountain-Business Objects) 4:16.926
2. Brittany Wood (BC, BC Team) 5:07.246

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.