Featured Stories

2006 BC Summer Games – Coaches Get Involved!

September 15, 2005 – Cycling BC is seeking certified level 2 coaches for the upcoming ’06 Kamloops BC Summer Games. The Games, held July 27th through to the 30th, cater to kids aged 15 and 16 (as of December 31, ’06), and feature a road race, time trial and cross-country mountain bike race. Each Zone Team consists of eight athletes; four female, four male.

Responsibilities of the Zone Coach include promoting the Games within the designated Zone, selecting and preparing athletes, and traveling to and from the Games. Transportation, accommodations, and food is provided by the Games Society.

For the first time ever, Cycling BC is happy to offer honorariums to qualified Zone Coaches. Certified Level 2 coaches will receive $75 per day, while Level 3 coaches are entitled to $100 per day, over the 3 days of Games competition. Aspiring Level 1 coaches wishing to upgrade their certification levels and act as Zone coaches are entitled to FREE NCCP programming.

For further information, or to register as the Zone Coach for your sector, please contact Provincial Coach Allan Prazsky, road@cycling.bc.ca or (604) 737-3137 today!Zone Coaches are required from all corners of the province, according to the Provincial Zone breakdown described below.

Kootenays (Zone 1/Yellow)
Regional Districts of Central Kootenay, East Kootenay, Kootenay Boundary and Electoral Area A of Columbia-Shuswap Regional District, and including major centres: Castlegar, Cranbrook, Creston, Fernie, Golden, Grand Forks, Kimberley, Nelson, Radium, Rossland, and Trail.

Thompson-Okanagan (Zone 2/Red)
Regional Districts of Central Okanagan, Columbia-Shuswap (excluding Electoral Area A), North Okanagan, Okanagan-Similkameen, Thompson-Nicola, Electoral Areas A and B of the Squamish-Lillooet Regional District, and including major centres: Armstrong, Ashcroft, Enderby, Kamloops, Kelowna, Lillooet, Merritt, Peachland, Penticton, Revelstoke, Salmon Arm, Summerland, Vernon, and Westbank.

Fraser Valley (Zone 3/Light Blue)
Regional Districts of Central Fraser Valley, Dewdney Alouette, Fraser-Cheam, and including major centres: Abbotsford, Chilliwack, Coquitlam, Hope, Langley, Maple Ridge, Mission, Pitt Meadows, Port Coquitlam, Port Moody, Surrey, and White Rock.

Fraser River-Delta (Zone 4/Orange)
The City of Burnaby, the District of Delta, the City of New Westminster, and the City of Richmond.

Vancouver-Squamish (Zone 5/Dark Green)
The Regional Districts of Squamish-Lillooet (excluding Electoral Areas A and B), Sunshine Coast, Electoral Areas A, B, and C of the Greater Vancouver Regional District, the Village of Lions Bay, the Corporations of the Districts of North and West Vancouver, the City of North Vancouver, and the City of Vancouver.

Vancouver Island-Central Coast (Zone 6/Light Green)
The Regional Districts of Alberni-Clayoquot, Capital, Central Coast, Comox-Strathcona, Cowichan Valley, Mount Waddington, Nanaimo, Powell River, and including major centres: Campbell River, Comox, Courtenay, Cumberland, Duncan, Esquimalt, Ladysmith, Nanaimo, North Cowichan, Oak Bay, Ocean Falls, Port Alberni, Port Hardy, Powell River, Saanich, Sayward, Sidney, and Victoria.

North West (Zone 7/Purple)
The Regional Districts of Bulkley-Nechako, Kitimat-Stikine Region, and including major centres Burns Lake, Fort St. James, Houston, Kitimat, Masset, Port Clements, Prince Rupert, Smithers, Stewart, Terrace, and Vanderhoof.

Cariboo-North East (Zone 8/Dark Blue)
The Regional Districts of Cariboo, Fraser-Fort George, Peace River-Liaird, and including major centres Chetwynd, Dawson Creek, Fort Nelson, Fort St. John, Hudson Hope, Prince George, Quesnel, Tumbler Ridge, and Williams Lake.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.