Featured Stories

2005 US National Track Championships – Day 3

August 13, 2005 – All three individual event winners on Friday captured their second elite national championship of the week as Jennie Reed (Kirkland, Wash.) took a win in the women’s 500 meter time trial to go with her sprint title, Sarah Hammer (Temecula, Calif.) won the women’s 20km points race to match her individual pursuit victory and Stephen Alfred (Capitola, Calif.) took the men’s sprint crown in an encore performance to his keirin win on Wednesday as the USA Cycling Elite Track National Championships continued in Los Angeles.

After riding to the national title in the sprint on Thursday, Reed clocked a time of 37.171 seconds to slightly edge Anna Lang (San Diego, Calif.) by just .04 of a second as the only two riders to break the 38-second barrier in the 500 meter time trial.

Martha Dunne (Coronado, Calif.), Miranda Duff (Sherwood, Calif.) and Thursday night’s scratch race winner Becky Quinn (Quakertown, Pa.) rounded out the podium respectively.

The women’s 20km points race featured 100 laps of competitive racing as a pair of road riders instigated the action early. Lauren Franges (Barto, Pa.) ignited the aggression as the first rider to lap the field and gain a 20-point advantage. Franges’ efforts were followed by Kori Seehafer (Louisville, Colo.), who matched the feat to secure the same 20-point reward giving the two road pros for the Victory Brewing squad and the T-Mobile team respectively a distinct advantage halfway through the race.

When Hammer answered by taking a lap of her own, it became a three-woman race and Hammer’s consistency in the intermediate sprints became the difference. With ten laps remaining, Hammer had the title sewn up as she held a six-point lead over Franges with only five points available in the final sprint, but the individual pursuit champ grabbed an extra three points at the finish line to officially take the win by a 36-27 point margin over Franges.

Seehafer held on to the bronze medal with 21 points while Quinn and Erin Mirabella (La Habra, Calif.) rounded out the top-five.

Another road convert, Tina Pic (Dahlonega, Ga.), placed sixth after a pair of solo breakaways yielded her 10 points and third-place sprint effort tacked on another two points for a total of 12.

The 21-year-old Hammer also earned the U23 title giving her a total of four national championship jerseys for the week as both the elite and U23 champion in the points race and pursuit.

In the men’s sprint, 37-year-old Stephen Alfred (Capitola, Calif.) took two of three sprints from Ryan Nelman (Houston, Texas) to earn the stars and stripes jersey.

Alfred was the second-seeded rider behind Christian Stahl (Bethany, Conn.) after posting a time of 10.790 seconds in the 200 meter qualifying session before working his way into the gold medal final by ousting Dean Tracy (Vancouver, Wash.), Alphonso Whaley (Houston, Texas) and Kevin Belz (Irving, Texas) in successive heats before dispatching Nelman.

In the 3/4 final, Belz beat Stahl to earn the bronze medal while Giddeon Massie (Colorado Springs, Colo.) took the 5-8 sprint to round out the top-five.

The Northwest Mortgage squad won the team pursuit title in a time of 4 minutes, 21.898 seconds giving Bobby Lea (Mertztown, Pa.) his fourth national title of the week.

Lea and teammates Mike Friedman (Pittsburgh, Pa.), Guillaume Nelessen (Belle Mead, N.J.) and Ryan Miller (Belle Mead, N.J.) bettered their top-seeded qualifying time of 4:25.932 by more than four seconds in the final against the second-seeded Texas Roadhouse team consisting of Curtis Gunn (Tucson, Ariz.), Dan Vogt (Corona del Mar, Calif.), Brad Huff (Fair Grove, Mo.) and Kenny Williams (Kenmore, Wash.).

Northwest Mortgage clocked a 4:21.898 over Texas Roadhouse’s 4:23.695.

In the consolation round for third place, the TIAA-CREF squad comprised of Colby Pearce (Boulder, Colo.), Will Frischkorn (Boulder, Colo.), Todd Yezefski (Chicago, Ill.) and Nate Mitchell (Boulder, Colo.) overtook the Recycled Cycles team of Mike Garrett (Venice, Calif.), Leif Clarke (Seattle, Wash.), Jimmy Lingwood (Seattle, Wash.) and Walker Starr (Walnut Creek, Calif.) to round out the top-three.

The 2005 USA Cycling Elite Track National Championships conclude on Saturday with the men’s and women’s team sprint, the men’s madison and the women’s keirin.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.