Featured Stories

2005 Road Worlds – U23 Men\’s RR Report

September 24, 2005 – Ukrainian Dmytro Grabovskyy has taken the U23 Road Race rainbow jersey today after an incredible solo on a course that most have predicted would result in bunch sprints.

Grabovysky has already had a stellar week winning silver in the ITT on Wednesday, September 21. With a race controlled mostly by the Italians and Spanish over the 168 kms, it was definitely a tough day for an opportunist like Grabovskyy to break away. On each of the eight laps there were flurries of attacks but all were neutralized by the strong nations, content to keep it together for a sprint.

However, ultimately the Ukranian chased up to Italy’s Tiziano Dall’Antonia with just two laps remaining. On the last lap, a group of six riders caught up the leaders and it was then that Grabovsky attacked again, establishing a lead that would finally result in a gap of 26 seconds over Australia’s William Walker. Walker had broken clear with Evgeny Popov (Russia). Behind them, Carlo Westphal (Germany) came in for fourth, followed by Australia’s Christopher Sutton. The hapless Dall’Antonia had to settle for fifth after all his work out front.

Only two of the five Canadians finished – Christian Meier in 47th, and Ryan Roth in 50th – Brandon Crichton, Will Routley and Kevin Lacombe DNF’d.


1 Dmytro Grabovskyy (Ukraine) 3.56.23 (42.643 km/h)
2 William Walker (Australia) 0.26
3 Evgeny Popov (Russian Federation)
4 Carlo Westphal (Germany) 0.33
5 Christopher Sutton (Australia)
6 Tiziano Dall’Antonia (Italy)
7 Gianni Meersman (Belgium)
8 Steve Morabito (Switzerland)
9 Philip Deignan (Ireland)
10 Pieter Jacobs (Belgium)
11 Lars Boom (Netherlands)
12 Anton Reshetnikov (Russian Federation)
13 Stéphane Poulhies (France)
14 Mark Cavendish (Great Britain)
15 Nic Ingels (Belgium)
16 Martin Pedersen (Denmark)
17 Gerald Ciolek (Germany)
18 Ignacio Sarabia Diaz (Mexico)
19 Rafaâ Chtioui (Tunisia)
20 Filipe Duarte Sousa Cardoso (Portugal)
21 Andris Buividas (Lithuania)
22 Diego Milan Jimenez (Spain)
23 Helder José Alves Oliveira (Portugal)
24 Rene Mandri (Estonia)
25 Dumitru Creciun (Republic of Moldova)
26 Julian David Munozg Giraldo (Colombia)
27 Rino Zampilli (Italy)
28 Hubert Krys (Poland)
29 Lukas Fus (Czech Republic)
30 Michal Golas (Poland)
31 Miguel Angel Rubiano Chavez (Colombia)
32 Josef Benetseder (Austria)
33 Jose Joaquin Rojas Gil (Spain)
34 Alexander Gottfried (Germany)
35 Luigi Sestili (Italy)
36 Andrey Zeits (Kazakhstan)
37 Jure Kocjan (Slovenia)
38 Herberts Pudans (Latvia)
39 Marc De Maar (Netherlands)
40 Yukiya Arashiro (Japan)
41 Jose Antonio Ramos Querales (Venezuela)
42 Mathieu Ladagnous (France)
43 Diego Alejandro Tamayo Martinez (Colombia)
44 Sebastian Langeveld (Netherlands)
45 Emanuel Kiserlovski (Croatia)
46 Maxim Belkov (Russian Federation)
47 Christian Meier (Canada)
48 Peter Velits (Slovakia)
49 Robert Gesink (Netherlands)
50 Ryan Roth (Canada)

Did not finish:
Brandon Crichton (Canada)
Will Routley (Canada)
Kevin Lacombe (Canada)

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.