Featured Stories

2005 Quebec Road Championships – RR Results

August 29, 2005 РUnder somewhat menacing skies, the Championnats Qu̩becois sur Route took place yesterday August 29th at Saint-Sauver / Morin Heights. The course, which began with a controlled start from the Morin Heights Ski Resort, featured the famed c̫te de la Domain Saint-Gabriel Рa gruelling climb of 2 kilometres with an incline of 8-10 %. After the climb, the course then became a series of fast, curvy descents and more climbs along le Chemin Tamaracouta before rocketing riders on route 329 and through the Village of Morin Heights for a lap total of 20.1 kilometres.

Starting at 13h25, the Junior Men’s field featured a bumper crop of more than forty of Quebec’s younger best, who started with the Senior 3-4 Men’s class. Early break-aways seemed to be the order of the day, and it was David Veilleux of Elicycle/Sports Experts who started the trend, eventually winning himself another Champions Jersey. Following Veilleux were Club Acidose Lactique’s Stephane Cossette and Espoirs de Laval’s William Goodfellow, both capping off their seasons.

Junior Men – 100 km
1. David Veilleux – Elicycle / Sports Experts
2. Stephane Cossette – Acidose Lactique
3. William Goodfellow – Espoirs de Laval

The Junior Women, racing with an ample field of Masters and Senior Women, had 62 km to complete, and in a repeat of the results of the previous day’s Time Trial, it was once again Karol-Ann Canuel (d’Amos Inc) in first place, followed by powerhouse Joelle Numainville of Espoirs Laval, and Janie Fortin (Équipe Proco) who were once again reunited on the podium for a final time in 2005. There is no doubt that women’s cycling in Quebec is in a fantastic period of growth and development – the future looks bright for these talented junior women; kudos to all who raced!

Junior Women – 62 km
1. Karol-Ann Canuel – d’Amos Inc.
2. Joelle Numainville – Espoirs de Laval
3. Janie Fortin – Équipe Proco

Seven laps and 140 kilometres of fun awaited the 54 strong Senior Men’s pack. With a few laps to go, a battle royale began to take shape between Charles Dionne (WEBCOR Builders – CTM) and Dominique Perras (Kodak – Sierra Nevada). The two shadowed each other until the bitter end, with Dionne out-sprinting Perras a few precious feet from the finish line. Following the dazzling duo was a chase pack of five riders, but it was Jean-Sebastien Beland of Gypco-TéléAnnounces who grabbed the last remaining place on the podium.

Senior Men 1-2 – 140 km
1. Charles Dionne – WEBCOR Builders – CTM
2. Dominique Perras – Kodak – Sierra Nevada
3. Jean-Sebastien Beland РGypco-T̩l̩Announces
4. Mathieru Roy – Premier Tech
5. Greg Reain – CycleLogik Racing
6. Yann Deville – CIBC Wood Gundy

In the Women’s race, right off the first lap a gap opened up in the women’s pack while climbing the 2 kilometre hill. This escape pack of roughly eight riders stayed together until the last lap, Quark’s Audrey Lemieux showed off her climbing legs and sprinted off to a Championship Jersey and a 2 hour 29 minute finish over 81 kilometres. Stephanie Bourbeau (CIBC Wood-Gundy) demonstrated her polyvalence once again, coming in second at 2 hours 35 minutes flat. Terry Precision’s Julie Hutsebaut came in for third a mere 27 seconds later. A stellar performance by Caroline Montminy (Ste-Foy Quebec Metro) deserves special mention; a regular on the Quebec-Cup circuit, Montminy was sitting in 10th place at the base of mont Saint-Gabriel, and in an impressive uphill sprint, rocketed to a fantastic fourth place finish.

Senior Women 1-2 – 81 km

1. Audrey Lemieux – Quark – TT-W
2. Stephanie Bourbeau – CIBC Wood Gundy
3. Julie Hutsebaut – Terry Precision
4. Caroline Montminy – Ste Foy Quebec Metro
5. Joanie Caron – Elicycle – Sports Experts
6. Mathilde Hupin-Debeurme – Sportif Bromont

Special mention and thanks to Henry Levy, the FQSC, Equipe Premier Tech, all volunteers and commissaires for their dedication and hard work in the realization of the 2005 Quebec Road Championships. Merci beaucoup et félicitations à tous !

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.