Featured Stories

2005 Junior Track Worlds – Day Two

August 8, 2005 “” Ben Barczewski (Breinigisville, Pa.) narrowly missed out on a medal in the men’s keirin on Monday as the 2005 UCI Junior Track World Championships continued in Vienna, Austria. Barczewski placed fourth behind Christos Volikakis (GRE), Rafal Poper (POL) and Rene Enders (GER) in the final round after strong showings in earlier qualifying heats to claim the best finish thus far for the U.S. National Team.

After finishing last in his first qualifying heat, Barczewski won the ensuing repechage to advance to the second round. With a second-place effort in round two, Barczewski moved forward to the six-man final where he placed fourth.

Also competing in the men’s keirin was Mike Schnabel (Emmaus, Pa.). Schnabel placed second in his qualifying heat and fourth in the subsequent repechage, eliminating him from further competition.

In the men’s kilometer time trial, Spencer Hartfeld (Santa Barbara, Calif.) posted a time of 1 minute, 7.510 seconds to place 13th as Maximilian Levy (GER) clocked the fastest time of the day, a 1:03.757, to earn the world title.

In the women’s 20km points race, Natalie Klemko (Bristol, Wis.) placed 17th with no points. Andrea Wolfer (SUI) captured the world title with 28 points as one of three girls to lap the field.

Daniel Holloway (Morgan Hill, Calif.) placed 24th in the men’s individual pursuit qualifying round with a time of 3:34.792. In the gold medal final, Andrew Tennant (GBR) clocked a time of 3:20.835 to beat Sam Bewley (NZL) who posted a time of 3:25.261.

Cindy Lakatosh (Trexlertown, Pa.) rode a time of 12.542 seconds in the women’s 200m sprint qualifying heat. With the 18th fastest time of the day, Lakatosh missed the top-16 cutoff necessary to qualify for the first round.

The 2005 UCI Junior Track World Championships continue on Tuesday with three more medal competitions, the women’s individual pursuit, the women’s sprint and the men’s team pursuit. Kimberly Geist (Emmaus, Pa.) will be the only U.S. competitor on Tuesday in the women’s pursuit.

Men’s 1km TT Final

1. Maximilian Levy (Germany) 1.03.757 (56.464km/h)
2. Kévin Sireau (France) 1.04.080 (56.180km/h)
3. Scott Sunderland (Australia) 1.04.378 (55.920km/h)
4. Dong Jin Kang (Korea) 1.04.517 (55.799km/h)
5. Benjamin Wittmann (Germany) 1.04.528 (55.790km/h)
6. Alexandre Volant (France) 1.05.201 (55.214km/h)
7. Jackson-Leigh Rathbone (Australia) 1.05.485 (54.974km/h)
8. David Wilken (Germany) 1.05.821 (54.694km/h)
9. Dawid Glowacki (Poland) 1.06.290 (54.307km/h)
10. Maxim Tarakanov (Russia) 1.06.453 (54.174km/h)

Men Individual Pursuit Qualifying

1. Andrew Tennant (Great Britain) 3.19.415 (54.158km/h)
2. Sam Bewley (New Zealand) 3.20.639 (53.828km/h)
3. Ivan Rovny (Russia) 3.23.506 (53.070km/h)
4. Patrick Gretsch (Germany) 3.24.100 (52.915km/h)
5. Vitaliy Shchedov (Ukraine) 3.25.271 (52.613km/h)
6. Ramunas Navardauskas (Lithuania) 3.25.308 (52.604km/h)
7. Darren Shea (New Zealand) 3.25.437 (52.571km/h)
8. Alessandro Cantone (Italy) 3.26.392 (52.328km/h)
9. Zakkari Dempster (Australia) 3.27.434 (52.065km/h)
10. Jochen Helfen (Germany) 3.28.098 (51.899km/h)

Men 30km Madison

1. Russia (Andrey Klyuev/Alexey Shiryaev) 15
2. Germany (Norman Dimde/Marcel Kalz) 8
3. Australia (Cameron Meyer/Mitchell Pearson) 7
4. Switzerland (Tristan Marquet/Loïc Perizzolo) 7
5. Czech Republic (Martin Hacecky/Vojtech Hacecky) 6
6. Great Britain (Matthew Rowe/Ben Swift) 5
7. Austria (Patrick Gelosky/Michael Kocner) 5
8. France (Jonathan Lahoun/Guillaume Perrot) 5
9. Italy (Fabrizio Braggion/Stefano Castoldi) 2
10. Netherlands (Pim Ligthart/Yondi Schmidt) 3

Women’s 20km points race

1. Andrea Wolfer (Sui) 28 pts
2. Rushlee Buchanan (Nzl) 25
3. Irina Zemlyanskaya (Rus) 23
4. Mie Bekker Lacota (Den) 15
5. Amanda Spratt (Aus) 14
6. Stephanie Pohl (Ger) 9
7. Elizabeth Armitstead (Gbr) 5
8. Katarina Uhlarikova (Svk) 5
9. Silvia Castoldi (Ita) 3
10. Roxane Knetemann (Ned) 3

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.