Featured Stories

14th Annual OCA Cycling Celebration – Award Winners and Photos

by Lisa Evans

November 18, 2013 (Toronto, ON) – Close to 200 people gathered at the 14th Annual OCA Celebration on Saturday, Nov. 16 at the Cardinal Golf Club in King City to share a glass and present awards honouring the province’s large pool of talented riders. Presented by La Bicicletta and CCN Bikes, the event showcased athletes and contributors and featured special guests, such as the legendary Steve Bauer of Tour de France fame, and Shelley Gautier, a top level para-cyclist with four world titles to her name.

Brendan Arnold, OCA HP Head Coach, entertained the crowd as MC for the evening, while proud parents and fans applauded an impressive year of cycling in the province after enjoying a delicious sit-down dinner. One of the many highlights of the evening was a standing ovation for Peter Disera, who won silver in the junior men’s XC race at the MTB Worlds and took home the MTB-XC Male Athlete of the Year award.

A raffle and silent auction helped raise upwards of $1,000 for the Milton Velodrome, which is currently under construction and is expected to open next September in time to host the 2014 Canadian Track Championships. The grand prize of the evening went to 14-year-old Noah Simms who took home a Bianchi bike presented by Bauer, Tony Silvestri of Bianchi Canada, and Graham Fraser from Centurion Cycling… more photos coming.



2013 Awards included:

Road Organizer of the Year
– Spinsanity Cycles

Road Contributor of the Year
– Midweek Cycling Club

Road Male Athlete of the Year
– Adam Jameson

Road Female Athlete of the Year
– Annie Forman-Mackey

Track Athlete of the Year
– Candice Vermeulen

BMX Athlete of the Year
– Amelia Walsh

MTB Organizer of the Year
– Glenn Meeuwisse, Pulse Racing

MTB Contributor of the Year
– Kevin Simms

MTB-XC Male Athlete of the Year
– Peter Disera

MTB-XC Female Athlete of the Year
– Mikaela Kofman

DH Athlete of the Year
– Kyle Sangers

CX Athlete of the Year
– Evan McNeely

President’s Award
– Alex Sanna

True Sport Award
– William Corry

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.